Five College Academic Calendar 2004-2005

(also view the 2003-2004 calendar)

View a PDF file of the printed version of this calendar.

Classes Begin
AC: Tu, Sept 7 
HC: W, Sept 8 
MHC: Th Sept 9 
SC: Tu, Sept 7 
UM: W, Sept 8

End of Interchange Registration 
AC: F, Sept 17 
HC: W, Sept 22 
MHC: W, Sept 22 
SC M, Sept 20 
UM Tu, Sept 21

No Classes 
HC: W, Sept 29; Th, Nov 11 
SC: Mountain Day TBA; Otelia Cromwell Day Tu, Nov 2
Please note: For Smith College, Mountain Day and Otelia Cromwell Day are two separate days with no classes. Mountain Day is not known until the president makes the announcement. 
UM: Veterans’ Day, Th, Nov 11

Mid-Semester Break 
AC: Sat, Oct 9-Tu, Oct 12 
HC: Sat, Oct 9-Tu, Oct 12 
MHC: Sat, Oct 9-Tu, Oct 12 
SC: Sat, Oct 9 - Tu, Oct 12 
UM: M, Oct 11 (Columbus Day)

Interchange Pre-Registration for Spring 
AC: Th, Nov 11-W, Nov 17 
HC: M, Nov 8-F, Nov 19 
MHC: M, Nov 15-F, Nov 19
SC: M, Nov 8-F, Nov 19 
UM: W, Nov 10-F, Nov 19

Pre-Registration for Spring 
AC: Th, Nov 11-W, Nov 17 
HC: M, Nov 8-F, Nov 19 
MHC: M, Nov 15-F, Nov 19
SC: M, Nov 8-F, Nov 19 
UM: W, Nov 10-W, Nov 17

Thanksgiving Vacation 
AC: Sat, Nov 20-Sun, Nov 28 
HC: W, Nov 24-Sun, Nov 28 
MHC: W, Nov 24-Sun, Nov 28 
SC: W, Nov 24-Sun, Nov 28 
UM: W, Nov 24 (after last class)-Sun, Nov. 28

Last Day of Classes 
AC: W, Dec 15 
HC: F, Dec 10 
MHC: Tu, Dec 14 
SC: Tu, Dec 14 
UM: M, Dec. 13

Reading/Study Period 
AC: Th, Dec 16-F, Dec 17 
MHC: W, Dec 15-Th Dec 16 
SC: W Dec 15-F, Dec 17 
UM: Tu, Dec 14-W, Dec 15

Examination Period 
AC: Sat, Dec 18-W, Dec 22 
HC: M, Dec 13-Th, Dec 16 
MHC: F, Dec 17-Tu, Dec 21 
SC: Sat, Dec 18-Tu, Dec 21 
UM: Th, Dec 16-W, Dec 22

Grades Due
AC: M, Jan 3 
MHC: M, Jan 3 
SC: F, Jan 7 
UM: M, Jan 3 noon

January Term
AC: M, Jan 3-F, Jan 21 
HC: M, Jan 3-Th, Jan 20 
MHC: M, Jan 3-F, Jan 21 
SC: M, Jan 3-Sat, Jan 22 
UM: M, Jan 3-M, Jan 24

Classes Begin 
AC: M, Jan 24 
HC: W, Jan 26 
MHC: W, Jan 26 
SC: M, Jan 24 
UM: W, Jan 26

End of Interchange Registration 
AC: F, Feb 4 
HC: Tu, Feb 8 
MHC: Tu, Feb 8 
SC: F, Feb 4 
UM: Tu, Feb 8

No Classes 
HC: Th, Feb 24; W, Apr 6
SC: Rally Day W, Feb 23 
UM: Presidents’ Day M, Feb 21; Patriots’ Day M, Apr 18

Spring Recess 
AC: Sat, Mar 12-Sun, Mar 20 
HC: Sat, Mar 12-Sun, Mar 20 
MHC: Sat, Mar 12-Sun, Mar 20 
SC: Sat, Mar 12-Sun, Mar 20 
UM: Sat, Mar 12 (after last class)-Sun, Mar 20

Interchange Pre-Registration for Fall 
SC: M, Apr 4-F, Apr 15

Pre-Registration for Fall 
AC: M, Apr 11-F, Apr 15 
HC: M, Apr 4-F, Apr 15 
MHC: M, Apr 11-F, Apr 15 
SC: M, Apr 4-F, Apr 15 
UM: M, Apr 11-F, Apr 15

Last Day Classes 
AC: F, May 6 
HC: F, May 6 
MHC: Tu, May 3 
SC: F, Apr 29 
UM: Th, May 12

Reading/Study Period 
AC: Sat, May 7-Sun, May 8 
MHC: W, May 4-Th, May 5 
SC: Sat, Apr 30-M, May 2 
UM: F, May 13-Sat, May 14 noon

Examination Period 
AC: M, May 9-F, May 13 
HC: M, May 9-F, May 13 
MHC: F, May 6-Th, May 12 noon 
SC: Tu, May 3-F, May 6 
UM: Sat, May 14 noon-F, May 20

Grades Due for Seniors
AC: M, May 16 9:00 am
MHC: W, May 11
SC: M, May 9

Grades Due for Others
AC: W, May 18
MHC: Tu, May 24
SC: M, May 16
UM: Tu, May 24

Commencement 
AC: Sun, May 22 
HC: Sat, May 21 
MHC: Sun, May 22 
SC: Sun, May 15 
UM: Sun, May 22

Notes: Amherst: Mon. classes on Wed., Sept. 8; Mount Holyoke: Wed. classes on Fri., Sept. 10; Smith College: On Mountain Day (TBA), morning and afternoon classes cancelled; Otelia Cromwell Day (Tu, Nov. 2) afternoon and evening classes cancelled; Rally Day (W, Feb. 23) all classes cancelled; UMass: Wed. Oct. 13, Mon. class schedule; Mon. Nov. 22, Thurs. class schedule; Wed. Feb. 23, Mon. class schedule; Th. April 21, Mon. class schedule