Five College Academic Calendar 2006-2007

(also view the 2005-2006 calendar)

View a PDF file of the printed version of this calendar.

Classes Begin
AC: T, Sept 5
HC: W, Sept 6
MHC: Th, Sept. 7
SC: Th, Sept 7
UM: W, Sept 6

End of Interchange Registration 
AC: F, Sept 15 
HC: T, Sept 19 
MHC: W, Sept. 20 
SC: W, Sept 20 
UM: T, Sept 19

No Classes 
HC: W, Sept. 27; M, Oct 2; Th, Nov. 9 
MHC: Mountain Day, TBA 
Please note: For Mount Holyoke College, Mountain Day is not known until the president makes the announcement. 
SC: Mountain Day, TBA; Otelia Cromwell Th, Nov 9
Please note: For Smith College, Mountain Day and Otelia Cromwell Day are two separate days with no classes. Mountain Day is not known until the president makes the announcement. 
UM: M, Oct 9; Sat, Nov 11

Mid-Semester Break 
AC: Sat, Oct 7 - T, Oct 10 
HC: Sat, Oct 7 - T, Oct 10 
MHC: Sat, Oct 7 - T, Oct 10 
SC: Sat, Oct 7–T, Oct. 10

Pre-Registration for Spring 
AC: Th, Nov 9–W, Nov 15 
HC: M, Nov 13–F, Nov 17 
MHC: M, Nov 13–F, Nov 17 
SC: M, Nov 6–F, Nov 17 
UM: M, Nov 13–F, Nov 17

Thanksgiving Vacation 
AC: Sat, Nov 18–Sun, Nov 26 
HC: W, Nov 22–Sun, Nov 26 
MHC: W, Nov 22–Sun, Nov 26 
SC: W, Nov 22–Sun, Nov 26 
UM: W, Nov 22–Sun, Nov 26

Last Day of Classes 
AC: W, Dec 13 
HC: W, Dec 8 
SC: W, Dec 13 
MHC: Th, Dec 14 
UM: W, Dec 13

Reading/Study Period
AC: Th, Dec 14 - Sun, Dec 17 
MHC: Th, Dec 14 - F, Dec 15 
SC: F, Dec 15 - M, Dec 18 
UM: Th, Dec 14 & Sat, Dec 16

Examination Period 
AC: Mon, Dec 18 - F, Dec 22 
HC: Mon Dec 11 - Th Dec 14
MHC: Sat, Dec 16 - W, Dec 20 
SC: T, Dec 19 - F, Dec 22 
UM: F, Dec 15; M, Dec 18 - F, Dec 22

Grades Due 
AC: T, Jan 2 
MHC: T, Jan 2 
SC: M, Jan 8 
UM: T, Jan 2 noon

January Term 
AC: M, Jan 8 - F, Jan 26 
HC: W, Jan 3 - Th Jan 25 
MHC: W, Jan 3 - W, Jan 24 
SC: M, Jan 8 - Sat, Jan 27 
UM: W, Jan 3 - Th, Jan 25

Martin Luther King Day, Jan 15 
HC: No Classes 
MHC: No Classes 
SC: No Classes
UM: No Classes

Classes Begin 
AC: M, Jan 29 
HC: W, Jan 31 
MHC: M, Jan 29 
SC: M, Jan 29 
UM: M, Jan 29

End of Interchange Registration 
AC: F, Feb 9 
HC: M, Feb 12 
SC: F, Feb 9 
MHC: F, Feb 9 
UM: M, Feb 12

No Classes 
HC: W, Feb 21; M, Apr 9 
SC: Rally Day W, Feb 21 
UM: M, Feb 19; M, Apr 16

Spring Recess 
AC: Sat, Mar 17 - Sun, Mar 25 
HC: Sat, Mar 17 - Sun, Mar 25 
MHC: Sat, Mar 17 - Sun Mar 25 
SC: Sat, Mar 17 - Sun, Mar 25 
UM: Sat Mar 17 - Sun, Mar 25

Pre-Registration for Fall 
AC: M, Apr 9 - F, Apr 13 
HC: M, Apr 9 - F Apr 13 
MHC: M, Apr 9 - F, Apr 13 
SC: M, Apr 2 - F Apr 13 
UM: M, Apr 9 - F, Apr 13

Last Day of Classes 
AC: F, May 11 
HC: F, May 4 
MHC: T, May 8 
SC: F, May 4 
UM: T, May 15

Reading/Study Period 
AC: Sat, May 12 - Sun, May 13 
MHC: W, May 9 - Th, May 10 
SC: Sat, May 5 - M, May 7 
UM: W, May 16; Sat, May 19

Examination Period 
AC: M, May 14 - F, May 18 
HC: M, May 7 - F May 11 
MHC: F, May 11 - T, May 15 
SC: T, May 8 - F, May 11 
UM: Th, May 17 - F, May 18; M, May 21 - Th, May 24

Grades Due, seniors
AC: M, May 21, 9:00 am 
MHC: F, May 18 
SC: M, May 14

Grades Due, other
AC: W, May 23 
MHC: M, May 28 
SC: M, May 21 
UM: T, May 29, noon

Commencement 
AC: Sun, May 27 
HC: Sat, May 19 
MHC: Sun, May 27 
SC: Sun, May 20 
UM: Sat, May 26

Notes:

  • Amherst College: Monday schedule applies to Wed, Sept 6.
  • Smith College: On Mountain Day (TBA), morning and afternoon classes cancelled; Otelia Cromwell Day (Th, Nov. 9) afternoon and evening classes cancelled; Rally Day (W, Feb. 21) all classes cancelled.
  • University: Monday class schedule will be followed on W, Oct 11; T, April 17.