Five College Academic Calendar 2009-2010

(also view the 2008-2009 calendar)

View a PDF file of this calendar formatted 8.5" x 11".

Classes Begin
AC: Tu, Sept 8
HC: W, Sept 9
MH: Th, Sept 10
SC: Tu, Sept 8
UM: Tu, Sept 8

Deadline for Adding Interchange Courses
AC: W, Sept 16
HC: Tu, Sept 22
MH: W, Sept. 23
SC: F, Sept 18 
UM : M, Sept 21

No Classes
HC: M, Sept 28; Th, Oct 1; W, Nov 4
MH: Mountain Day, TBA
Please note: For Mount Holyoke College, Mountain Day is not known until the President makes the announcement. 
SC: Mountain Day, TBA; Otelia Cromwell, Tu, Nov 10
Please note: For Smith College, Mountain Day (morning and afternoon classes cancelled) and Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes cancelled) are two separate days with abbreviated class schedules. Mountain Day is not known until the President makes the announcement.
UM: M, Oct 12; W, Nov 11

Mid-Semester Break
AC: Sat, Oct 10 - M, Oct. 12
HC: Sat, Oct 10 - Tu, Oct 13
MH: Sat, Oct 10 - Tu, Oct 13
SC: Sat, Oct 10 - Tu, Oct 13                         

Five College Course Request Period for Spring
AC: Th, Nov12 - W, Nov 18
HC: M, Nov 9 - F, Nov 13
MH: M, Nov 9 - F, Nov 20
SC: M, Nov 9 - F, Nov 20
UM: Th, Nov. 12 - F, Nov 20

Thanksgiving Vacation
AC: Sat, Nov 21 - Sun, Nov 29
HC: W, Nov 25 - Sun, Nov 29
MH: W, Nov 25 - Sun, Nov 29
SC: W, Nov 25 - Sun, Nov 29
UM: W, Nov 25 - Sun, Nov 29

Last Day of Classes
AC: Tu, Dec 15
HC: F, Dec 11
MH: Tu, Dec 15
SC : Tu, Dec 15
UM: F, Dec 11

Reading/Study Period
AC: W, Dec 16 - Th, Dec 17
MH: W, Dec 16 - Th, Dec 17
SC: W, Dec 16 - F, Dec 18
UM: Sat, Dec 12 - Sun, Dec 13

Examination Period
AC: F, Dec 18 - Tu, Dec 22
HC: M, Dec 14 - Th, Dec 17
MH: F, Dec 18 - Tu, Dec 22 at noon
SC: Sat, Dec 19 - Tu, Dec 22
UM: M, Dec 14 - Sat, Dec 19

Grades Due
AC: M, Jan 4
MH: M, Jan 4
SC: F, Jan 8
UM: M, Dec 28 at noon

January Term
AC: M, Jan 4 - F, Jan 22
HC: M, Jan 4 - Th, Jan 21
MH: M, Jan 4 - F, Jan 22
SC: M, Jan 4 - Sat, Jan 23
UM: M, Dec 21 - Sat, Jan 16

Martin Luther King Day
HC: M, Jan 18
MH: M, Jan 18
SC: M, Jan 18             

Classes Begin
AC: M, Jan 25
HC: W, Jan 27
MH: W, Jan 27
SC: M, Jan 25
UM: Tu, Jan 19

Deadline for Adding Interchange Courses
AC: W, Feb 3
HC: Tu, Feb 9
MH: Tu, Feb 9
SC: F, Feb 5
UM: M, Feb 1

No Classes
HC: W, Feb 17; Th, Apr 1
SC: Rally Day, W, Feb 17
UM: M, Feb 15; M, Apr 19

Spring Recess
AC: Sat, Mar 13 - Sun, Mar 21
HC: Sat, Mar 13 - Sun, Mar 21 
MH: Sat, Mar 13 - Sun, Mar 21
SC: Sat, Mar 13 - Sun, Mar 21
UM: Sat, Mar 13 - Sun, Mar 21

Five College Course Request Period for Fall
AC: M, Apr 5 - F, Apr 9
HC: M, Apr 5 - F, Apr 9
MH: M, Apr 12 - F, Apr 16
SC: M, Apr 5 - F, Apr 16
UM: M, Mar 29 - F, Apr 16

Last Day Classes
AC: F, May 7
HC: F, May 7
MH: W, May 5
SC: F, Apr 30
UM: Tu, May 4

Reading/Study Period
AC: Sat, May 8 - Sun, May 9
MH: Th, May 6 - F, May 7
SC: Sat, May 1 - M, May 3
UM: W, May 5; Sat, May 8

Examination Period
AC: M, May 10 - F, May 14
HC: M, May 10 - F, May 14
MH: Sat, May 8 - Th, May 13 at noon
SC: Tu, May 4 - F, May 7
UM: Th, May 6 - F, May 7; M, May 10 - Th, May 13

Grades Due, Seniors
AC: M, May 17 at 9:00 am
MH: Th, May 13 at noon
SC: M, May 10

Grades Due, Others
AC: W, May 19
MH: Tu, May 25
SC: M, May 17
UM: Tu, May 18 at noon

Commencement
AC: Sun, May 23
HC: Sat, May 22
MH: Sun, May 23
SC: Sun, May 16
UM: Sat, May 15

Notes:

  • Amherst College: Monday class schedule applies to Tuesday, Sept 8.

  • Mount Holyoke College:  Wednesday class schedule applies to Friday, Sept 11.

  • UMass Amherst: Monday class schedule applies to Tuesday, Oct 13; Tuesday, Feb 16; and Wednesday, Apr 21.