Five College Academic Calendar 2010-2011

(also view the 2009-2010 calendar)

View a PDF file of this calendar formatted 8.5" x 11".

Classes Begin
AC: Tu, Sept 7 
HC: W, Sept 8 
MH: W, Sept 8 
SC: Tu, Sept 7 
UM: Tu, Sept 7

End of Add Courses
AC: W, Sept 15 
HC: Tu, Sept 21 
MH: Tu, Sept 21 
SC: F, Sept 17 
UM: M, Sept 20

End of Drop Courses
AC: W, Sept 15 
HC: Tu, Sept 21; M, Nov 15 with "W" notation 
MH: Tu, Sept 28; Th, Nov 18 with "W" notation
SC: F, Sept 17 
UM: M, Sept 20; Th, Oct 21 with "W" notation

End Interchange Registration 
AC: W, Sept 15
HC: Tu, Sept 21
MH: Tu, Sept 21
SC: F, Sept 17
UM : M, Sept 20

No Classes
HC: Th, Sept 30; W, Nov 3 
MH: Mountain Day, TBA
Please note: For Mount Holyoke College, Mountain Day is not known until the President makes the announcement. 
SC: Mountain Day, TBA; Otelia Cromwell, Tu, Oct. 26 
Please note: For Smith College, Mountain Day (morning and afternoon classes cancelled) and Otelia Cromwell Day (afternoon and evening classes cancelled) are two separate days with abbreviated class schedules. Mountain Day is not known until the President makes the announcement.
UM: M, Oct 11; Th, Nov 11

Mid-Semester Break
AC: Sat, Oct 9 - Tu, Oct. 12
HC: Sat, Oct 9 - Tu, Oct 12
MH: Sat, Oct 9 - Tu, Oct 12
SC: Sat, Oct 9 - Tu, Oct 12                         

Five College Course Request Period for Spring
AC: Th, Nov 11 - W, Nov 17
HC: M, Nov 8 - Sun, Nov 14
MH: M, Nov 8 - F, Nov 19 
SC: M, Nov 8 - F, Nov 19 
UM: F, Nov. 12 - F, Nov 19

Thanksgiving Vacation
AC: Sat, Nov 20 - Sun, Nov 28
HC: W, Nov 24 - Sun, Nov 28
MH: W, Nov 24 - Sun, Nov 28
SC: W, Nov 24 - Sun, Nov 28
UM: W, Nov 24 (after last class) - Sun, Nov 28

Last Day of Classes
AC: W, Dec 15
HC: F, Dec 10
MH: Tu, Dec 14
SC : Tu, Dec 14
UM: F, Dec 10

Reading/Study Period
AC: Th, Dec 16 - F, Dec 17
MH: W, Dec 15 - Th, Dec 16
SC: W, Dec 15 - F, Dec 17
UM: Sat, Dec 11 - Sun, Dec 12

Examination Period
AC: Sat, Dec 18 - W, Dec 22
HC: M, Dec 13 - Th, Dec 16
MH: F, Dec 17 - Tu, Dec 21 at noon
SC: Sat, Dec 18 - Tu, Dec 21
UM: M, Dec 13 - Sat, Dec 18

Grades Due
AC: M, Jan 3 
MH: M, Jan 3 
SC: F, Jan 7 
UM: M, Dec 27

January Term
AC: M, Jan 3 - F, Jan 21
HC: M, Jan 3 - Th, Jan 20
MH: M, Jan 3 - F, Jan 21
SC: M, Jan 3 - Sat, Jan 22
UM: M, Dec 20 - Sat, Jan 15

Martin Luther King Day
HC: M, Jan 17
MH: M, Jan 17
SC: M, Jan 17             

Classes Begin
AC: M, Jan 24
HC: W, Jan 26
MH: W, Jan 26
SC: M, Jan 24
UM: Tu, Jan 18

End of Add Courses
AC: W, Feb 2 
HC: Tu, Feb 8 
MH: Tu, Feb 8 
SC: F, Feb 4 
UM: M, Jan 31

End of Drop Courses
AC: W, Feb 2 
HC: Tu, Feb 8 
MH: Tu, Feb 15; Tu, Apr 12 with "W" notation
SC: F, Feb 4 
UM: M, Jan 31; Tu, Mar 22 with "W" notation

Deadline for Adding Interchange Courses
AC: W, Feb 2 
HC: Tu, Feb 8 
MH: Tu, Feb 8 
SC: F, Feb 4 
UM: M, Jan 31

No Classes
HC: W, Feb 16; Th, Mar 31 
SC: Rally Day, W, Feb 23 
UM: M, Feb 21; M, Apr 18

Spring Recess
AC: Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20
HC: Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20
MH: Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20
SC: Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20
UM: Sat, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 20

Five College Course Request Period for Fall
AC: M, Apr 4 - F, Apr 8 
HC: M, Apr 4 - Sun, Apr 10 
MH: M, Apr 11 - F, Apr 15
SC: M, Apr 4 - F, Apr 15
UM: M, Mar 28 - F, Apr 15

Last Day Classes
AC: F, May 6 
HC: F, May 6 
MH: Tu, May 3 
SC: F, Apr 29 
UM: Tu, May 3

Reading/Study Period
AC: Sat, May 7 - Sun, May 8 
MH: Th, May 4 - F, May 6 at 7 p.m. 
SC: Sat, Apr 30 - M, May 2 
UM: W, May 4; Sat, May 7

Examination Period
AC: M, May 9 - F, May 13
HC: M, May 9 - F, May 13
MH: F, May 6 at 7 p.m. - Th, May 10 at noon
SC: Tu, May 3 - F, May 6 
UM: Th, May 5 - F, May 6; M, May 9 - Th, May 12

Grades Due, Seniors
AC: M, May 16 at 9:00 a.m.
MH: W, May 11 at 4 p.m. 
SC: M, May 9

Grades Due, Others
AC: W, May 18
HC: M, May 16 
MH: Tu, May 24
SC: M, May 16
UM: Tu, May 17

Commencement
AC: Sun, May 22
HC: Sat, May 21
MH: Sun, May 22
SC: Sun, May 15
UM: F, May 13

Notes:

  • Amherst College: Monday class schedule applies to Wednesday, Sept 8.

  • Smith College: Otelia Cromwell Day, Tu, Nov 2, afternoon and evening classes cancelled; Mountain Day (TBA) morning and afternoon classes cancelled; Rally Day, W, Feb 3, classes cancelled.

  • UMass Amherst: Monday class schedule applies to Tuesday, Oct 12, Tuesday, Feb 22 and Wednesday Apr 20; Thursday class schedule applies to Wednesday, Nov 10.