Five College African Studies Program

Five College African Studies Faculty

faculty group photo for people page

Jump to Campus


Amherst college

AbiodunRowland Abiodun
Department of Black Studies; Art and Art Studies
Amherst College
Office: 107 Cooper House
Telephone: 542-5801
E-mail: roabiodun@amherst.edu




José Celso de Castro Alves
Department of Black Studies
; History

Amherst College
Office:
Telephone: (413) 542-2158
E-mail: jcastroalves@amherst.edu


Rhonda Cobham-Sander
Cobham Sander
Department of English; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 102 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5832
E-mail: ccobhamsande@amherst.edu




GoheenMitzi Goheen
Department of Anthropology & Sociology
; Chair of Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 309 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-2740
E-mail: mrgoheen@amherst.edu




Sean ReddingRedding
Department of History; Black Studies
Amherst College
Office:
Telephone: (413) 542-2032
E-mail: sredding@amherst.edu



Andrea Rushing
Department of English
; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 11 Johnson Chapel
Telephone: (413) 542-2412
E-mail: abrushing@amherst.edu

Peter Uvin
Provost of Amherst College
Department of Political Science
Amherst College
Office: 101 Converse Hall
Telephone: (413) 542-5647
E-mail: puvin@amherst.edu

[return to top]


hampshire college

Rachel Engmann
Departmenf of Africana Studies
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
Telephone:
Email: raeCSI@hampshire.edu

Frank Holmquist
Professor Emeritus
Hampshire College
Office: 212 Franklin Patterson Hall
Telephone: (413) 559-5377
E-mail: fholmquist@hampshire.edu

Agnes Kimokoti
Five College Center for the Study of World Languages
Office: 312 Cole
Telephone: (413) 559-6093
E-mail: akimokoti@hampshire.edu

Lynda Pickbourn
Department of Economics
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
Telephone:
E-mail: ljpCSI@hampshire.edu

[return to top]


mount holyoke college

Sarah Adelmen (on leave Fall 2013)
Department of Economics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Skinner Hall 123
Telephone: (431) 538-2495
E-mail: sadelman@mtholyoke.edu

faculty photos

Catherine Corson
Department of Environmental Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp 325
Telephone: (413) 538-3458
E-mail: ccorson@myholyoke.edu




GadjigoSamba Gadjigo
Department of French

Mount Holyoke College
Office: 117 Ciruti Center
Telephone: (413) 538-2255
E-mail: sgadjigo@mtholyoke.edu



faculty photosAmanda Gilvin
Department of Art History
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 211B Art Building
Telephone: (413) 538-2984
E-mail: agilvin@mtholyoke.edu




Holly HansonHolly Hanson
Hist
ory, African American and African Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 314 Skinner Hall
Telephone:(413) 538-2094
E-mail: hhanson@mtholyoke.edu


Girma Kebbede
Department of Geology and Geography
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp Lab 328
Telephone: (413) 538-2004
E-mail: gkebbede@mtholyoke.edu

LemlyJohn Lemly
Department of English

Mount Holyoke College
Office: 633 Library
Telephone: (413) 538-2448
E-mail: jlemly@mtholyoke.edu




McKeeverMatthew McKeever
Department of Sociology

Mount Holyoke College
Office: 100 Merrill House
Telephone: (413) 538-3235
E-mail: mmckeeve@mtholyoke.edu


OmojolaOlabode Omojola
Department of Music
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 213 Pratt Hall
Telephone: (413) 532-0595
E-mail: bomojola@mtholyoke.edu
Alt. Web: https://cms.amherst.edu/people/facstaff/oomojola




faculty photosPreston Smith II
Department of Politics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Shattuck 214
Telephone: (413) 538-3528
E-mail: psmith@mtholyoke.edu

[return to top]


Smith College

faculty photosJeffrey Ahlman
Department of History
Smith College
Office: Nelson Library A/09
Telephone: (413) 585-3731
E-mail: jahlman@smith.edu




baboAlfred Babo
Department of French Studies
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 235
Telephone: (413) 585-3355
E-mail: ababo@smith.edu


CorbinJoanne Corbin
School of Social Work

Smith College
Office: 216 Lilly Hall, Smith College
Telephone: (413) 585-4039
E-mail: jcorbin@email.smith.edu



faculty photosKim Yi Dionne
Department of Government
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 231
Telephone: (413) 585-3563
E-mail: kdionne@smith.edu




Fratkin

Elliot Fratkin
Department of Anthropology
Smith College
Office: 107 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3338
E-mail: efratkin@smith.edu


Dawn FultonDawn Fulton
Department of French Studies

Smith College
Office: 123 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3376
E-mail: cdfulton@email.smith.edu



Simon Halliday
Department of Economics
Office:
Telephone:
E-mail:

Caroline Melly
Department of Anthropology Assistant
Telephone :( 413)585-3500
E-mail: cmelly@email.smith.edu

Albert Mosley


Albert Mosley
Department of Philosophy

Smith College
Office: Dewey Hall 5
Telephone: (413) 585-3652
E-mail: amosley@email.smith.edu



MuleKatwiwa Mule
Department of Comparative Literature

Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 227
Telephone: (413) 585-3355
E-mail: kmule@email.smith.edu


Lucy Mule
Department of Education & Child Study

Smith College
Office: Morgan Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3263
E-mail: lmule@email.smith.edu

WhiteGregory White
Government

Smith College
Director of the Smith College African Studies Department
Office: 10 Prospect Street
Telephone: (413) 585-3542
E-mail: gwhite@smith.edu


Louis Wilson
Department of Afro-American Studies

Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 213
Telephone: (413) 585-3573
E-mail: lwilson@smith.edu

[return to top]


UMASS AMHERST

BowmanJoye Bowman
Department of History
University of Massachusetts
Office: Herter 631
Telephone: (413) 545-1330
E-mail: jbowman@history.umass.edu



ClingmanStephen Clingman
Department of English

University of Massachusetts
Office: 264 Bartlett Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-3474
E-mail: sclingman@english.umass.edu 



C_EdieCarlene Edie
Department of Political Science
University of Massachusetts
Office: Thompson 206
Telephone: (413) 545-6172
                     E-mail: cjedie@polsci.umass.edu


EvansDavid Evans
Education Policy Research and Administration Department, School of Education, University of Massachusetts
Office: 283 Hills House South
Telephone: (413) 545-4175
E-mail: dre@educ.umass.edu


John Higginson
Department of History

University of Massachusetts
Office: 705 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-1920
E-mail: jeh@history.umass.edu

Kathryn Lachman
Department of Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
University of Massachusetts
Office: 319 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6703
E-mail: klachman@llc.umass.edu


faculty photos

Megan Lewis
Department of Theater
University of Massachusetts
Office:
Telephone:
E-mail: meganlewis@theater.umass.edu


Annette Damayanti Lienau
Department of Comparative Literature
University of Massachusetts
Office:
Telephone:
E-mail: alienau@complit.umass.edu

MensahPatrick Mensah
Department of French,
Department of Italian Studies
University of Massachusetts
Office: 323 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6716
E-mail: pmensah@frital.umass.edu




Karen "Kym" Morrison
Department of Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts
Telephone: (413) 545-5157
E-mail: kymorris@afroam.umass.edu

Jacqueline Mosselson
The Center for International Education
University of Massachusetts
Office: Hills South
Telephone: 545-4696
E-mail: jmosselson@educ.umass.edu

NdikumanaLéonce Ndikumana
Department of Economics

University of Massachusetts
Office: Thompson Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6359
E-mail: ndiku@econs.umass.edu




SchafferFrederic Schaffer
Department of Political Science
University of Massachusetts
Office: Thompson 324
Telephone: (413) 545-0725
Email: schaffer@polsci.umass.edu




Amilcar ShabazzAmilcar Shabazz
Chair, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts
Office: 324 Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-2751
E-mail: shabazz@chancellor.umass.edu



Demetria Shabazz
Department of Communications
University of Massachusetts
Office: 408 Machmer Hall
Telephone: 545-4276
E-mail: dshabazz@comm.umas.edu

William Strickland
Department of Afro-American Studies

University of Massachusetts
Office: 320 New Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-2751
E-mail: bstrick@afroam.umass.edu

wa GithinjiMwangi wa Gĩthĩnji
Department of Economics
University of Massachusetts
Office: Thompson 902
Telephone: (413) 545 1373
E-mail: mwangi@econs.umass.edu

[return to top]