Five College African Studies Program

Five College African Studies Faculty

faculty group photo for people page

The Five College African Studies program is supported by faculty members in more than 15 different disciplines across five campuses.

More than twenty faculty members are available to advise students pursuing the Five College African Studies Certificate. See a list of certificate advisors.

Jump to Campus


Amherst college

AbiodunRowland Abiodun
Black Studies; Art and Art Studies
Amherst College
Office: 107 Cooper House
Telephone: 542-5801
E-mail: roabiodun@amherst.edu

 

 

 

Rhonda Cobham-SanderCobham Sander
English; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 102 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5832
E-mail: ccobhamsande@amherst.edu






Goheen
Mitzi Goheen
Anthropology & Sociology
; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 309 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-2740
E-mail: mrgoheen@amherst.edu

 

 

 

Sean ReddingRedding
History; Black Studies
Amherst College
Office: 25 Chapin Hall
Telephone: (413) 542-2032
E-mail: sredding@amherst.edu

 

 

[return to top]


hampshire college

Rachel Engmann
Africana Studies; Archeology
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
Email: raeCSI@hampshire.edu

Frank Holmquist
Professor Emeritus
Hampshire College
E-mail: fholmquist@hampshire.edu

Agnes Kimokoti
Five College Center for the Study of World Languages
Hampshire College
Office: 312 Cole
Telephone: (413) 559-6093
E-mail: akimokoti@hampshire.edu

Lynda Pickbourn
Economics
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
E-mail: ljpCSI@hampshire.edu

[return to top]


mount holyoke college

image

Sarah Adelmen
Economics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Skinner Hall 123
Telephone: (431) 538-2495
E-mail: sadelman@mtholyoke.edu

 


faculty photos

Catherine Corson
Environmental Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp 325
Telephone: (413) 538-3458
E-mail: ccorson@myholyoke.edu

 

 

 

Gadjigo
Samba Gadjigo
French

Mount Holyoke College
Office: 22 Ciruti Center
Telephone: (413) 538-2255
E-mail: sgadjigo@mtholyoke.edu

 

faculty photos
Amanda Gilvin
Art History
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 211B Art Building
Telephone: (413) 538-2984
E-mail: agilvin@mtholyoke.edu





Holly Hanson
Holly Hanson
Hist
ory, African American and African Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 314 Skinner Hall
Telephone:(413) 538-2094
E-mail: hhanson@mtholyoke.edu

image

Girma Kebbede
Geology and Geography
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp Lab 328
Telephone: (413) 538-2004
E-mail: gkebbede@mtholyoke.edu




Lemly
John Lemly
English
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 204 Shattuck Hall
Telephone: (413) 538-2448
E-mail: jlemly@mtholyoke.edu






McKeever
Matthew McKeever
Sociology
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 115 Porter Hall
Telephone: (413) 538-3235
E-mail: mmckeeve@mtholyoke.edu

 

Omojola
Olabode Omojola
Music
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 209 Pratt Hall
Telephone: (413) 532-0595
E-mail: bomojola@mtholyoke.edu

 

 

faculty photos
Preston Smith II
Politics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Shattuck 214
Telephone: (413) 538-3528
E-mail: psmith@mtholyoke.edu

[return to top]


Smith College

faculty photos
Jeffrey Ahlman
History
Smith College
Office: Nelson Library A/09
Telephone: (413) 585-3731
E-mail: jahlman@smith.edu

 

 

 

babo
Alfred Babo
French Studies
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 235
Telephone: (413) 585-3355
E-mail: ababo@smith.edu

 

Corbin
Joanne Corbin
School of Social Work

Smith College
Office: 216 Lilly Hall, Smith College
Telephone: (413) 585-4039
E-mail: jcorbin@email.smith.edu

 

 

faculty photos
Kim Yi Dionne
Government
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 231
Telephone: (413) 585-3563
E-mail: kdionne@smith.edu

 

 

 

Fratkin

Elliot Fratkin
Anthropology
Smith College
Office: 107 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3338
E-mail: efratkin@smith.edu

 

Dawn Fulton
Dawn Fulton
French Studies
Smith College
Office: 123 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3376
E-mail: cdfulton@email.smith.edu


 

image

Simon Halliday
Economics
Office: 107 Pierce Hall
Telephone: (413) 585 3529
E-mail: shalliday@smith.edu

 

image
Marilyn Sylla

Five College Dance Department
Office: Berenson Studio 1
Email: msylla@email.smith.edu

image

Caroline Melly
Anthropology
Smith College
Telephone :( 413)585-3500
E-mail: cmelly@email.smith.edu

 

Albert Mosley

 

Albert Mosley
Philosophy
Smith College
Office: Dewey Hall 5
Telephone: (413) 585-3652
E-mail: amosley@email.smith.edu

 

 

Mule
Katwiwa Mule
Comparative Literature
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 227
Telephone: (413) 585-3355
E-mail: kmule@email.smith.edu

 

 

imageLucy Mule
Education & Child Study
Smith College
Office: Morgan Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3263
E-mail: lmule@email.smith.edu

 

White
Gregory White
Government, African Studies
Smith College
Office: 10 Prospect Street
Telephone: (413) 585-3542
E-mail: gwhite@smith.edu

 

Louis Wilson
Afro-American Studies
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 213
Telephone: (413) 585-3573
E-mail: lwilson@smith.edu

[return to top]


UNIVERSITY OF Massachusetts Amherst

image

Judyie Al-Bilali
Theater
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Fine Arts Center 112
E-mail: jalbilali@theater.umass.edu

 

Bowman
Joye Bowman
History
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Herter 618
Telephone: (413) 545-1330
E-mail: jbowman@history.umass.edu

 

 

image

John Bracey
Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 327 New Africa House
tlovelan@afroam.umass.edu

 

Clingman
Stephen Clingman
English

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 264 Bartlett Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-3474
E-mail: sclingman@english.umass.edu 

 

 

C_EdieCarlene Edie
Political Science
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 206
Telephone: (413) 545-6172
                   E-mail: cjedie@polsci.umass.edu

 

Evans
David Evans
Education Policy Research and Administration, School of Education
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 283 Hills House South
Telephone: (413) 545-4175
E-mail: dre@educ.umass.edu

image

John Higginson
History

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 705 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-1920
E-mail: jeh@history.umass.edu

 

Kathryn Lachman
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 319 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6703
E-mail: klachman@llc.umass.edu

 

faculty photos

Megan Lewis
Theater
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office:
Telephone:
E-mail: meganlewis@theater.umass.edu

 

Annette Damayanti Lienau
Comparative Literature
University of Massachusetts Amherst
E-mail: alienau@complit.umass.edu

Mzamo P. Mangaliso
Isenberg School of Management
University of Massachusttes Amherst
Office: Isenberg 219C
E-mail: mangaliso@isenberg.umass.edu





Mensah
Patrick Mensah
French,
Italian Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 323 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6716
E-mail: pmensah@frital.umass.edu

 

 

 

Karen "Kym" Morrison
Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Telephone: (413) 545-5157
E-mail: kymorris@afroam.umass.edu

image

Jacqueline Mosselson
The Center for International Education
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Hills South
Telephone: 545-4696
E-mail: jmosselson@educ.umass.edu

 

Ndikumana
Léonce Ndikumana
Economics
, Political Economy Research Institute
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6359
E-mail: ndiku@econs.umass.edu

 

 

 

Schaffer
Frederic Schaffer
Political Science
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 324
Telephone: (413) 545-0725
Email: schaffer@polsci.umass.edu

 

 

 

Amilcar Shabazz
Amilcar Shabazz
Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 324 Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-2751
E-mail: shabazz@chancellor.umass.edu

 

 

 

image

Demetria Shabazz
Communication
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 408 Machmer Hall
Telephone: 545-4276
E-mail: dshabazz@comm.umas.edu




image


Lindiwe Sibeko
Nutrition
University of Massachusetts Amherst
204 Chenoweth Laboratory
E-mail: lsibeko@nutrition.umass.edu



image

William Strickland
Afro-American Studies

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 320 New Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-2751
E-mail: bstrick@afroam.umass.edu



wa Githinji
Mwangi wa Gĩthĩnji
Economics
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 902
Telephone: (413) 545 1373
E-mail: mwangi@econs.umass.edu

[return to top]