Five College Consortium

Five College African Studies Program

Five College African Studies Faculty

faculty group photo for people page

The Five College African Studies program is supported by faculty members in more than 15 different disciplines across five campuses.

More than 20 faculty members are available to advise students pursuing the Five College African Studies Certificate. See a list of certificate advisors.

Jump to Campus


Amherst college

AbiodunRowland Abiodun
Black Studies; Art and Art Studies
Amherst College
Office: 107 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5801
E-mail: roabiodun@amherst.edu

 

 

 

Rhonda Cobham-SanderCobham Sander
English; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 102 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5832
E-mail: ccobhamsande@amherst.edu





Chipo Dendere[New Member Headshots (2017-18)]
Political Science

Amherst College
Office: Frost Library
Telephone: (413) 542-5961
E-mail: cdendere@amherst.edu





Goheen
Mitzi Goheen
Anthropology & Sociology
; Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 309 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-2740
E-mail: mrgoheen@amherst.edu

 

 

[New Member Headshots (2017-18)]Mary Hicks
Black Studies & History

Amherst College
Office: Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5323
E-mail: mhicks@amherst.edu

 

 


[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Peter Kimani

English

Amherst College
Office: Frost Library
Telephone: (413) 542-8318
E-mail: pkimani@amherst.edu





[New Member Headshots (2017-18)]Agnes Kimokoti
Five College Center for the Study of World Lanuages
79 South Pleasant Street, Suite 100
Amherst, MA
Telephone: (413) 559-5264
E-mail: akimokoti@fivecolleges.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Sean Redding

History; Black Studies
Amherst College
Office: 25 Chapin Hall
Telephone: (413) 542-2032
E-mail: sredding@amherst.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]
Olufemi Vaughan
Black Studies

Amherst College
Office: 109 Cooper House
Telephone: (413) 542-5516
E-mail: ovaughan@amherst.edu

 




[return to top]


hampshire college

[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Nathalie (Nell) Arnold
Fiction Writing
Hampshire College
Office: Writing Center
Email: naIA@hampshire.edu






[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Rachel Ama Asaa Engmann

African Studies, Anthropology & Archeology
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
Email: raeCSI@hampshire.edu






[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Frank Holmquist

Professor Emeritus
Hampshire College
E-mail: fholmquist@hampshire.edu







[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Lynda Pickbourn

Economics
Hampshire College
Office: Franklin Patterson Hall
E-mail: ljpCSI@hampshire.edu






[return to top]


mount holyoke college


[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Sarah Adelmen
Economics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Skinner Hall 123
Telephone: (431) 538-2495
E-mail: sadelman@mtholyoke.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Catherine Corson
Environmental Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp 325
Telephone: (413) 538-3458
E-mail: ccorson@myholyoke.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Samba Gadjigo
French
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 22 Ciruti Center
Telephone: (413) 538-2255
E-mail: sgadjigo@mtholyoke.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Holly Hanson
History, African American and African Studies
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 314 Skinner Hall
Telephone:(413) 538-2094
E-mail: hhanson@mtholyoke.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]

Girma Kebbede
Geology and Geography
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Clapp Lab 328
Telephone: (413) 538-2004
E-mail: gkebbede@mtholyoke.edu





Lemly
John Lemly
Professor Emeritus
Mount Holyoke College
E-mail: jlemly@mtholyoke.edu







Five College African Studies FacultyOlabode Omojola
Music
Mount Holyoke College
Office: 209 Pratt Hall
Telephone: (413) 532-0595
E-mail: bomojola@mtholyoke.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Preston Smith II

Politics
Mount Holyoke College
Office: Shattuck 214
Telephone: (413) 538-3528
E-mail: psmith@mtholyoke.edu






[return to top]


Smith College

[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Jeffrey Ahlman
History
Smith College
Office: Nelson Library A/09
Telephone: (413) 585-3731
E-mail: jahlman@smith.edu

 

 

 

[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Joanne Corbin
School of Social Work

Smith College
Office: 216 Lilly Hall, Smith College
Telephone: (413) 585-4039
E-mail: jcorbin@smith.edu

 

 

[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Kim Yi Dionne
Government
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 231
Telephone: (413) 585-3563
E-mail: kdionne@smith.edu

 

 

 
[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Elliot Fratkin
Anthropology
Smith College
Office: 107 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3338
E-mail: efratkin@smith.edu

 



[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Dawn Fulton
French Studies
Smith College
Office: 123 Wright Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3376
E-mail: cdfulton@email.smith.edu



 

[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]

Simon Halliday
Economics
Smith College
Office: 107 Pierce Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3529
E-mail: shalliday@smith.edu

 



[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]

Colin Hoag
Anthropology
Smith College
Office: Hillyer Hall 309
Telephone: (413) 585-3126
E-mail: choag@smith.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Caroline Melly

Anthropology
Smith College
Telephone: (413) 585-3500
E-mail: cmelly@email.smith.edu






[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Albert Mosley

Philosophy
Smith College
Office: Dewey Hall 5
Telephone: (413) 585-3652
E-mail: amosley@email.smith.edu

 




[More Headshots for Website]Katwiwa Mule
Comparative Literature
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 227
Telephone: (413) 585-3355
E-mail: kmule@email.smith.edu





[More Headshots for Website]Lucy Mule
Education & Child Study
Smith College
Office: Morgan Hall
Telephone: (413) 585-3263
E-mail: lmule@email.smith.edu





[Website Updates Member Headshots (2017-18)]Marilyn Sylla
Five College Dance Department
Smith College
Office: Berenson Studio 1
Email: msylla@email.smith.edu






[More Headshots for Website]Gregory White
Government, African Studies
Smith College
Office: 10 Prospect Street
Telephone: (413) 585-3542
E-mail: gwhite@smith.edu

 



[More Headshots for Website]Louis Wilson
Afro-American Studies
Smith College
Office: Wright Hall 213
Telephone: (413) 585-3573
E-mail: lwilson@smith.edu





[return to top]


UNIVERSITY OF Massachusetts Amherst

[UMass Headshots]Judyie Al-Bilali
Theater
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Fine Arts Center 112
E-mail: jalbilali@theater.umass.edu






[UMass Headshots]Joye Bowman
History
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Herter 618
Telephone: (413) 545-1330
E-mail: jbowman@history.umass.edu

 




[UMass Headshots]John Bracey

Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 327 New Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-1330
E-mail: jhbracey@afroam.umass.edu






[UMass Headshots]Stephen Clingman
English

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 264 Bartlett Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-3474
E-mail: clingman@english.umass.edu 






[UMass Headshots]Carlene Edie
Political Science
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 206
Telephone: (413) 545-6172
E-mail: cjedie@polsci.umass.edu





[UMass Headshots]David Evans
Professor Emeritus
University of Massachusetts Amherst
E-mail: dre@educ.umass.edu








[UMass Headshots]John Higginson

History

University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 705 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-1920
E-mail: jeh@history.umass.edu






[UMass Headshots]Kathryn Lachman

Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 319 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6703
E-mail: klachman@llc.umass.edu





[UMass Headshots]Megan Lewis
Theater
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Fine Arts Center, Rm 107
Telephone: (413) 545-6816
E-mail: meganlewis@theater.umass.edu

 




[UMass Headshots]Annette Damayanti
Lienau
Comparative Literature
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 516 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6816
E-mail: alienau@complit.umass.edu





[UMass Headshots]Mzamo P. Mangaliso
Isenberg School of Management
University of Massachusttes Amherst
Office: Isenberg 219C
Telephone: (413) 545-5698
E-mail: mangaliso@isenberg.umass.edu




Mensah
Patrick Mensah
French,
Italian Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 323 Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6716
E-mail: pmensah@frital.umass.edu

 

 


[UMass Headshots]Jacqueline Mosselson
The Center for International Education
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Hills South
Telephone: (413) 545-4696
E-mail: jmosselson@educ.umass.edu






[UMass Headshots]Léonce Ndikumana
Economics
, Political Economy Research Institute
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-6359
E-mail: ndiku@econs.umass.edu

 

 

 

[UMass Headshots]Frederic Schaffer
Political Science
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 324
Telephone: (413) 545-0725
Email: schaffer@polsci.umass.edu

 

 


[UMass Headshots]Amilcar Shabazz
Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 324 Africa House
Telephone: (413) 545-2751
E-mail: shabazz@chancellor.umass.edu

 

 

 

[UMass Headshots]

Demetria Shabazz
Communication
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 408 Machmer Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-4276
E-mail: dshabazz@comm.umass.edu





[UMass Headshots]Lindiwe Sibeko
Nutrition
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: 204 Chenoweth Laboratory
Telephone: (413) 545-1693
E-mail: lsibeko@nutrition.umass.edu





[UMass Headshots]William Strickland

Professor Emeritus
University of Massachusetts Amherst
E-mail: bstrick@afroam.umass.edu








[UMass Headshots]Mwangi wa Gĩthĩnji

Economics
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Office: Thompson 902
Telephone: (413) 545 1373
E-mail: mwangi@econs.umass.edu




[return to top]