Five College Consortium

On Today’s Horizon: Mass Extinctions - Beneski Museum of Natural History

Repeats every day until Sun May 20 2018.
Sat, Apr 14 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, Apr 15 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Mon, Apr 16 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Tue, Apr 17 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Wed, Apr 18 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Thu, Apr 19 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Fri, Apr 20 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sat, Apr 21 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, Apr 22 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Mon, Apr 23 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Tue, Apr 24 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Wed, Apr 25 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Thu, Apr 26 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Fri, Apr 27 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sat, Apr 28 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, Apr 29 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Mon, Apr 30 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Tue, May 1 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Wed, May 2 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Thu, May 3 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Fri, May 4 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sat, May 5 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, May 6 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Mon, May 7 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Tue, May 8 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Wed, May 9 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Thu, May 10 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Fri, May 11 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sat, May 12 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, May 13 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Mon, May 14 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Tue, May 15 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Wed, May 16 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Thu, May 17 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Fri, May 18 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sat, May 19 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Sun, May 20 2018 - 8:00am to 9:00am
Location: 
Beneski Museum of Natural History

Student curated temporary exhibit, On Today’s Horizon: Mass Extinctions, is available for public viewing from Thursday, April 19 until May 20. Step into the Beneski and discover the history of the five mass extinctions that have ravaged the species living on Earth. We are currently undergoing a sixth mass extinction, this time caused by our human impact. What can we do to mitigate the effects of this mass extinction? Learn more about what you can do in this interpretive exhibition.

Spanning all three floors, the exhibition will take you through all previous mass extinctions and the theories on how they were caused. What kinds of species did they affect? What information can we take from these previous mass extinctions to learn about the sixth one? Come for a guided tour with the student curator, Antonella Dominguez ‘18, on April 19 at 2:30 p.m. The small steps we take now to reduce the effects of our human impact can only help now with the trajectory of the six mass extinction we have caused.

Campus: 
Amherst College
Not accessible
Ticket info: 
Free and open to the public.
Contact phone: 
(413) 542-5054
Contact email: 
avenne@amherst.edu
Campus contact: