Five College Afterschool Bus to Holyoke

Spring 2019 transportation begins Monday, February 4, 2019


This transportation is a cooperative effort of the Community-Based Learning programs at each of the Five College campuses for students involved in community engagement with afterschool programs in Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

A bus (see schedule with stops below) will run Monday-Thursday afternoons, for two weeks beginning February 4 and ending February 14.  After February 14, transportation to the community partners listed in the schedule below will be coordinated on each campus.

 ATTN. STUDENTS:  If you will need transportation to Holyoke afterschool programs after February 14, contact the following staff members by February 8.

UMass students:  Contact Chris Felton, UMass Civic Engagement & Service-Learning,, 413, 577-4255

Mount Holyoke students:  Contact Kris Rose, Mount Holyoke College Community Based Learning,, 413-538-2491

>>>Transportation will not run if Holyoke Public Schools or your campus is closed due to weather or emergency.

Transportation will not run when the Holyoke Public Schools are not in session (see calendar) or on Holyoke Public School early release dates.

Bus Schedule and Route Details for Feb. 4-14:

The bus route begins at UMass Amherst (Haigis Mall) and stops at Hampshire College (Flag Stop near Admissions Bldg.) and Mount Holyoke College (South Hadley Common) before continuing on to stops at various afterschool programs in Holyoke.

>>>Look for a solid white or white with maroon stripe UMass bus, not a PVTA bus.

Note:  On the return to campus route, the bus only picks up at sites where students were dropped off that day. Students must ride the bus to Holyoke in order to be assured of pick up for the return trip to campus.

Schedule and route details:

Departures from Campuses to Holyoke:

2:30 PM (sharp!) depart Haigis Mall (UMass)

2:40 PM depart Office of Advancement on Route 116 (Hampshire)

3:00 PM depart S. Hadley Common near Mount Holyoke College

Drop-off @ Sites:

3:15 PM Drop-off @ Edward Nelson White School

3:25 PM Drop-off @ Homework House #3 (Appleton)

3:31 PM Drop-off @ Homework House #2 (Chestnut)

3:38 PM Drop-off @ Morgan Elementary School

3:44 PM Drop-off @ Homework House #1 (N Summer)

Pick-up @ Sites:

5:30 PM Pickup @ E N White School

5:35 PM Pickup @ Homework House #3 (Appleton)

5:39 PM Pickup @ Homework House #2 (Chestnut)

5:44 PM Pickup @ Morgan Elementary School

5:48 PM Pickup @ Homework House #1 (N Summer)

Arrivals at Campuses (estimates):

6:00 PM arrive S. Hadley Common near MHC

6:15 PM arrive Hampshire College Office of Advancement

6:35 PM arrive Haigis Mall (UMass)

Additional bus transportation to Holyoke:
Find PVTA R29 route and schedule information at