Five College students to present film studies research

Students from Amherst, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges will present their research at the second annual Five College Film Studies Undergraduate Conference Sunday, March 2, from 10:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at 101 Dwight Hall at Mount Holyoke.

Lunch will be served at noon in the Cassani Room at Shattuck Hall, and a reception will follow the afternoon sessions at 2:30 p.m. in Dwight Hall. The event, which is free and open to the public, is hosted by the Five College Film Council, which coordinates the study of film and video at all five campuses.

Mount Holyoke Professor of Film Studies Robin Blaetz will deliver the opening remarks, and Smith College Associate Professor of Film Studies Alexandra Keller will give the afternoon introductions. The student presenters this year are Joyzel Acevedo and Carl Lindstrom of Amherst College; Catherine Geeslin, Miranda Gontz, and Kristin Hilty of Mount Holyoke College; and Amalia Charles, Cade Johnson, and Sarah Lerner of Smith College. Each student will present for 15-20 minutes on a panel, and each panel will include time at the end for questions and discussion.

The Five College Film Studies Undergraduate Conference is designed to build community and collaboration among film studies students on each of the five campuses, and to allow them to share insights from their work with a wide audience

This event is sponsored by the Five College Film Council, the Mount Holyoke College Film Studies Program, the Smith College Film Studies Program, and the Amherst College Film and Media Studies Program.