Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2019-20

Each year, Five Colleges supports nearly 40 seminars initiated by groups of faculty members who come together to share scholarly interests and discuss curricular issues. Click through or scroll down to view contact information for the current chair(s).

Afro-American Studies

Chairs:

Toussaint Losier
Afro-American Studies
321 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
tlosier@umass.edu

Traci Parker
Afro-American Studies
308 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
traciparker@umass.edu

Yelana Sims
Afro-American Studies
New Africa House
University of Massachusetts
ysims@umass.edu

Anthropology

Chairs:

Chris Dole
Anthropology and Sociology
204 Morgan Hall
Amherst College 542-5816
cdole@amherst.edu

Julie Hemment
Anthropology
Machmer Hall
University of Massachusetts 577-1104
jhemment@anthro.umass.edu

Lynn Morgan
Anthropology
117 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2108
lmmorgan@mtholyoke.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Anthropology email list

Architectural Theory

Chairs: 

Erica Morawski
Art
Smith College
emorawski@smith.edu

Pari Riahi
Architecture
Design Building, Room 210
University of Massachusetts 545-7890
priahi@umass.edu

Arts Integration Initiative

Chairs: 

Maria José Botelho
School of Education
Furcolo Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-1110
mbotelho@educ.umass.edu

Jana Silver
Art Education
Franklin Patterson Hall G14
Hampshire College 559-5671
jsilver@hampshire.edu

Biophysics

Chairs: 

Lori Goldner
Physics
Hasbrouck Laboratory 407A
University of Massachusetts 545-0594
mbotelho@educ.umass.edu

Book History

Chairs: 

James Kelly
Du Bois Library
Research and Liaison Services Room
University of Massachusetts 545-3981
jrkelly@umass.edu

James Wald
Critical Social Inquiry
Franklin Patterson Hall G15
Hampshire College 559-5592
jjwss@hampshire.edu

Buddhist Studies

Chair: 

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Chairs: 

Alan van Giessen
Chemistry
Mount Holyoke College 538-2449
vangiess@mtholyoke.edu

Kathryn McMenimen
Chemistry
Mount Holyoke College 538-3375
kamcmeni@mtholyoke.edu

Childhood Studies

Chairs: 

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205, Box SS
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Classics

Chairs: 

Shannon Hogue
Classics
Herter
University of Massachusetts 545-0512
shogue@umass.edu

Rebecca Worsham
Classics
Dewey Hall 213
Smith College 
rworsham@smith.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Chair:

Andy Danylchuk
Environmental Conservation
Holdsworth Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2940
danylchuk@eco.umass.edu

Cognitive Science

Chair:

Andrew Cohen
Psychology & Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Crossroads in the Study of the Americas (CISA)

Chair:

Dominique Hill
Black Studies
Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5464
dhill@amherst.edu

Click here for more information about CISA

Digital Humanities

Chairs:

Emmanuel Buzay
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 309
University of Massachusetts 545-6701
ebuzay@umass.edu

Jon Olsen
History
Herter Hall 710
University of Massachusetts 545-6767
jon@history.umass.edu

Este Pope
Head of Digital Programs
Frost Library
Amherst College 542-5481
epope@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Digital Humanities email list

French

Chairs:

Mehammed Mack
French
Tyler Annex 102
Smith College 585-3343
mmack@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Raphael Sigal
French
Barrett Hall
Amherst College 542-2825
rsigal@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the French Studies email list

German Studies

Chairs:

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German Studies
27 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2207
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Chairs:

Lily Gurton-Wachter
English Language & Literature
Wright Hall 218
Smith College 585-3316
lgurtonwachter@smith.edu

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Amelia Worsley
English
102 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 559-6209
aworsley@amherst.edu

History

Chair:

Andrew Donson
History
Herter Hall 508
University of Massachusetts 545-6782
adonson@german.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the History email list

History of Art

Chairs:

Dwight Carey
Art and the History of Art
Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College 542-5876
dcarey@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join History of Art email list

International Relations

Chair:

Eric Einhorn
School of Public Policy
University of Massachusetts 545-2438
einhorn@polsci.umass.edu

Pavel Machala
Political Science
Clark House
Amherst College 542-2095
pmachala@amherst.edu

Interpreting Studies and Practice

Chairs:

Cristiano Mazzei
Comparative Literature
University of Massachusetts 545-6688
cmazzei@umass.edu

Italian

Chairs:

Ombretta Frau
Classics & Italian
207 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 585-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Late Antiquity

Chair:

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3424
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Legal Studies

Chair:

Paul Collins, Jr.
Political Science
328 Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-4079
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Chairs:

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Corine Tachtiris
Comparative Literature
Herter Hall 433
University of Massachusetts 577-4723
ctachtiris@umass.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Studies

Chairs:

Kiran Asher
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Program
South College
University of Massachusetts 545-6656
kasher@umass.edu

Malcolm Sen
English
South College E352
University of Massachusetts 545-5810
msen@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Chair:

Jessica Barr
Comparative Literature
South College
University of Massachusetts
jbarr@umass.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

Chairs:

David Mednicoff
Director of Middle Eastern Studies
Gordon Hall 120
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@pubpol.umass.edu

Bozena Welborne
Government
10 Prospect Street, Room 302
Smith College 585-4024
bwelborne@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Middle Eastern Studies email list

Migration Studies

Chairs:

Jennifer Guglielmo
History
Wright Hall 229
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
jgugliel@smith.edu

David Hernandez
Latina/o & Latin American Studies
121 Ciruiti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2643
dhernand@mtholyoke.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Migration Studies email list

Number Theory

Chairs:

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
Seeley Mudd 403
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Photography

Chairs:

Billie Mandle
HACU
Liebling 106
Hampshire College 559-5447
sbmHA@hampshire.edu

Claudio Nolasco
HACU
Liebling 104
Hampshire College 559-6901
cnolasco@hampshire.edu

Political Theory

Chairs:

Ali Aslam
Politics
Skinner 304
Mount Holyoke College 538-3414
aaslam@mtholyoke.edu

Erin R. Pineda
Government
Wright Hall 104
Smith College 585-3510
epineda@smith.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Chair:

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Religion

Chairs:

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Amina Steinfels
Religion
207 Skinner
Mount Holyoke College 538-2292
asteinfe@mtholyoke.edu

Renaissance

Chairs:

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Amy Rodgers
English
Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College
arodgers@mtholyoke.edu

Reproductive Politics

Chairs:

Cora Fernandez Anderson
Politics
Skinner 111
Mount Holyoke College 538-3483
canderso@mtholyoke.edu

Jennifer Nye
History
Herter Hall 609
University of Massachusetts 545-4337
jlnye@history.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Reproductive Politics email list

South Asian Political Cultures

Chairs:

Pinky Hota
Anthropology

Dewey Hall 214
Smith College
phota@smith.edu

Yael Rice
Art and the History of Art
208 Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College
yrice@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the South Asian Studies email list

Valley Geometry

Chairs:

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@math.umass.edu

Nathan Pflueger
Mathematics & Statistics
Seeley Mudd
Amherst College 542-5441
npflueger@amherst.edu

Women's Studies

Chair:

TBD

Mailing List:

Join the Women's Studies email list