Five College Consortium

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2018-19

Each year, Five Colleges supports over 35 seminars initiated by groups of faculty members who come together to share scholarly interests and discuss curricular issues. Click through or scroll down to view contact information for the current chair(s).

Afro-American Studies

Chairs:

Toussaint Losier
Afro-American Studies
321 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
tlosier@umass.edu

Traci Parker
Afro-American Studies
308 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
traciparker@umass.edu

Cecile Yezou
Afro-American Studies
New Africa House
University of Massachusetts
cyezou@umass.edu

Anthropology

Chairs:

Vanessa Fong
Anthropology & Sociology
Morgan Hall
Amherst College 542-5563
vfong@amherst.edu

Lynn Morgan
Anthropology
117 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2108
lmmorgan@mtholyoke.edu

Pamela Stone
Director of Culture, Brain & Development Program
CSI/FPH
Hampshire College 559-6203
pstone@hampshire.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Anthropology listsev

Arts Integration Initiative

Chairs: 

Maria José Botelho
School of Education
Furcolo Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-1110
mbotelho@educ.umass.edu

Jana Silver
Art Education
Franklin Patterson Hall G14
Hampshire College 559-5671
jsilver@hampshire.edu

Book History

Chairs: 

James Kelly
Du Bois Library
Research and Liaison Services Room
University of Massachusetts 545-3981
jrkelly@umass.edu

James Wald
Critical Social Inquiry
Franklin Patterson Hall G15
Hampshire College 559-5592
jjwss@hampshire.edu

Buddhist Studies

Chair: 

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Childhood Studies

Chairs: 

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205, Box SS
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Childhood Studies listserv

Classics

Chairs: 

Virginia Closs
Classics
Herter
University of Massachusetts 545-0512
closs@umass.edu

Andreas Zanker
Classics
AC 2257
Amherst College 542-2726
azanker@amherst.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Chair:

Andy Danylchuk
Environmental Conservation
Holdsworth Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2940
danylchuk@eco.umass.edu

Cognitive Science

Chair:

Andrew Cohen
Psychology & Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Crossroads in the Study of the Americas (CISA)

Chair:

Dominique Hill
Black Studies
Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5464
dhill@amherst.edu

Click here for more information about CISA

Digital Humanities

Chairs:

Emmanuel Buzay
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 309
University of Massachusetts 545-6701
ebuzay@umass.edu

Este Pope
Head of Digital Programs
Frost Library
Amherst College 542-5481
epope@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Digital Humanities listserv

French

Chairs:

Martine Gantrel
French Studies
Hatfield Hall 309
Smith College 585-3357
mgantrel@smith.edu

Kathryn Lachman
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 319
University of Massachusetts 545-6703
klachman@llc.umass.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Raphael Sigal
French
Barrett Hall
Amherst College 542-2825
rsigal@amherst.edu

Hélène Visentin
French Studies
Wright Hall 122
Smith College 585-3359
hvisenti@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the French Studies listserv

German Studies

Chairs:

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German Studies
27 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2207
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Chairs:

Lily Gurton-Wachter
English Language & Literature
Wright Hall 218
Smith College 585-3316
lgurtonwachter@smith.edu

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Amelia Worsley
English
102 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 559-6209
aworsley@amherst.edu

History

Chair:

Andrew Donson
History
Herter Hall 508
University of Massachusetts 545-6782
adonson@german.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the History listserv

History of Art

Chairs:

Dwight Carey
Art and the History of Art
Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College 542-5876
dcarey@amherst.edu

Niko Vicario
Art and the History of Art
Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College 542-5876
nvicario@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join History of Art listserv

International Relations

Chair:

Eric Einhorn
School of Public Policy
University of Massachusetts 545-2438
einhorn@polsci.umass.edu

Pavel Machala
Political Science
Clark House
Amherst College 542-2095
pmachala@amherst.edu

Interpreting Studies and Practice

Chairs:

Cristiano Mazzei
Comparative Literature
University of Massachusetts 545-6688
cmazzei@umass.edu

Italian

Chairs:

Ombretta Frau
Classics & Italian
207 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 585-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Roberto Ludovico
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Herter 312
University of Massachusetts 545-6548
ludovico@frital.umass.edu

Late Antiquity

Chair:

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3424
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Legal Studies

Chair:

Paul Collins, Jr.
Political Science
328 Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-4079
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Chairs:

Thalia Pandiri
Classics and Comparative Literature
Seelye 417
Smith College 585-3485
tpandiri@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Studies

Chairs:

Kiran Asher
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Program
South College
University of Massachusetts 545-6656
kasher@umass.edu

Malcolm Sen
English
South College E352
University of Massachusetts 545-5810
msen@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Chair:

Sonja Drimmer
History of Art & Architecture
South College
University of Massachusetts 545-3603
sdrimmer@arthist.umass.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

Chairs:

David Mednicoff
Director of Middle Eastern Studies
Gordon Hall 120
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@pubpol.umass.edu

Bozena Welborne
Government
10 Prospect Street, Room 302
Smith College 585-4024
bwelborne@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Middle Eastern Studies listsev

Migration Studies

Chairs:

Jennifer Guglielmo
History
Wright Hall 229
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
jgugliel@smith.edu

David Hernandez
Latina/o & Latin American Studies
121 Ciruiti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2643
dhernand@mtholyoke.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Migration Studies listserv

Number Theory

Chairs:

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
Seeley Mudd 403
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Photography

Chairs:

(Fall 2018 only)
Billie Mandle
HACU
Liebling 106
Hampshire College 559-5447
sbmHA@hampshire.edu

(Spring 2019 only)
Claudio Nolasco

HACU
Liebling 104
Hampshire College 559-6901
cnolasco@hampshire.edu

Jennifer Pranolo
Center for Humanistic Inquiry
Frost Library
Amherst College
jpranolo@amherst.edu

Political Theory

Chairs:

Ali Aslam
Politics
Skinner 304
Mount Holyoke College 538-3414
aaslam@mtholyoke.edu

Erin R. Pineda
Government
Wright Hall 104
Smith College 585-3510
epineda@smith.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Chair:

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Religion

Chairs:

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Amina Steinfels
Religion
207 Skinner
Mount Holyoke College 538-2292
asteinfe@mtholyoke.edu

Renaissance

Chairs:

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Amy Rodgers
English
Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College
arodgers@mtholyoke.edu

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Reproductive Politics

Chairs:

Cora Fernandez Anderson
Politics
Skinner 111
Mount Holyoke College 538-3483
canderso@mtholyoke.edu

Jennifer Nye
History
Herter Hall 609
University of Massachusetts 545-4337
jlnye@history.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Reproductive Politics listserv

South Asian Political Cultures

Chair:

Nusrat Chowdhury
Anthropology & Sociology
Morgan Hall
Amherst College 542-5613
nchowdhury@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the South Asian Studies listserv

Valley Geometry

Chairs:

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@math.umass.edu

Nathan Pflueger
Mathematics & Statistics
Seeley Mudd
Amherst College 542-5441
npflueger@amherst.edu

Women's Studies

Chair:

Jennifer Hamilton
Legal Studies and Anthropology
Franklin Patterson G-6
Hampshire College 559-5677
jahSS@hampshire.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Women's Studies listsev