Five College Consortium

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2017-18

Each year, Five Colleges supports over 30 seminars initiated by groups of faculty members who come together to share scholarly interests and discuss curricular issues. Click through or scroll down to view contact information for the current chair(s).

Afro-American Studies

Chairs:

Toussaint Losier
Afro-American Studies
321 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
tlosier@umass.edu

Traci Parker
Afro-American Studies
308 New Africa House
University of Massachusetts 545-2751
traciparker@umass.edu

Anthropology

Chairs:

Lynn Morgan
Anthropology
117 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2108
lmmorgan@mtholyoke.edu

Pamela Stone
Director of Culture, Brain & Development Program
CSI/FPH
Hampshire College 559-6203
pstone@hampshire.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Anthropology listsev

Architectural Theory

Chairs:

Erica Morawski
Art
Hillyer 112
Smith College 585-3335
emorawski@smith.edu

Pari Riahi
Architecture
364 Fine Arts Building
University of Massachusetts 899-3147
priahi@umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Architectural Studies listserv

Arts Integration Initiative

Chairs: 

Maria José Botelho
School of Education
Furcolo Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-1110
mbotelho@educ.umass.edu

Jana Silver
Art Education
Franklin Patterson Hall G14
Hampshire College 559-5671
jsilver@hampshire.edu

Biophysics

Chair: 

Lori Goldner
Physics
Hasbrouck 407B
University of Massachusetts 545-2545
lgoldner@physics.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Biophysics listserv

Book History

Chairs: 

James Kelly
Du Bois Library
Research and Liaison Services Room
University of Massachusetts 545-3981
jrkelly@umass.edu

James Wald
Critical Social Inquiry
Franklin Patterson Hall G15
Hampshire College 559-5592
jjwss@hampshire.edu

Buddhist Studies

Chair: 

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Chair: 

Michelle Farkas
Chemistry
Lederle Grad Research Tower 745C
University of Massachusetts 545-4770
farkas@chem.umass.edu

Childhood Studies

Chairs: 

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205, Box SS
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Childhood Studies listserv

Classics

Chairs: 

Virginia Closs
Classics
Herter
University of Massachusetts 545-0512
closs@umass.edu

Andreas Zanker
Classics
AC 2257
Amherst College 542-2726
azanker@amherst.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Chairs:

Cindy Bright
Coastal and Marine Sciences
Clark Science Center
Smith College 585-3799
marinesci@smith.edu

Renae Brodie
Biological Sciences
104 Clapp Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-3380
rbrodie@mtholyoke.edu

Cognitive Science

Chair:

Andrew Cohen
Psychology & Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Digital Humanities

Chairs:

Jon Berndt Olsen
History
Herter Hall 710
University of Massachusetts 545-6767
jon@history.umass.edu

Hélène Visentin
French Studies
Wright 122
Smith College 585-3359
hvisenti@smith.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Digital Humanities listserv

French

Chairs:

Kathryn Lachman
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 319
University of Massachusetts 545-6703
klachman@llc.umass.edu

Mehammed Mack
French Studies
Tyler Annex 102
Smith College 585-3343
mmack@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Mailing List:

Join the French Studies listserv

German Studies

Chairs:

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German Studies
27 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2207
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Chairs:

Joselyn Almeida-Beveridge
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2976
almeidab@english.umass.edu

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Amelia Worsley
English
102 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 559-6209
aworsley@amherst.edu

History

Chair:

Andrew Donson
History
Herter Hall 508
University of Massachusetts 545-6782
adonson@german.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the History listserv

History of Art

Chairs:

Christine Ho
History of Art and Architecture
South College W309
University of Massachusetts 545-8712
christineho@umass.edu

Niko Vicario
Art and the History of Art
AC 2249
Amherst College 542-5876
nvicario@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join History of Art listserv

International Relations

Chair:

Eric Einhorn
School of Public Policy
University of Massachusetts 545-2438
einhorn@polsci.umass.edu

Italian

Chairs:

Anna Botta
Italian
Wright 219
Smith College 585-3424
abotta@smith.edu

Andrea Malaguti
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Herter 307
University of Massachusetts 545-6317
malaguti@frital.umass.edu

Late Antiquity

Chair:

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3424
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Legal Studies

Chair:

Paul Collins, Jr.
Political Science
328 Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-4079
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Chairs:

Thalia Pandiri
Classics and Comparative Literature
Seelye 417
Smith College 585-3485
tpandiri@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Studies

Chairs:

Ruth Jennison
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-695-7513
ruthj@english.umass.edu

Jordy Rosenberg
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-552-7850
jrosenberg@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Chair:

Albert Lloret
Spanish & Portuguese
323 Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 577-4723
lloret@spanport.umass.edu

Migration Studies

Chairs:

Leila Kawar
Political Science
Thompson 308
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
lkawar@legal.umass.edu

David Hernandez
Latina/o & Latin American Studies
121 Ciruiti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2643
dhernand@mtholyoke.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Migration Studies listserv

Number Theory

Chairs:

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
Seeley Mudd 403
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Photography

Chairs:

Jennifer Bajorek
HACU
Dakin 202
Hampshire College 549-5776
jbajorek@hampshire.edu

Claudio Nolasco
HACU
Liebling 104
Hampshire College 559-6901
cnolasco@hampshire.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Chair:

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Psychoanalytic Studies

Chairs:

Alicia Christoff
English
Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5457
achristoff@amherst.edu

Christine Maksimowicz
Five College Associate
christinemaksimowicz@gmail.com

Murray Schwartz
murray_schwartz@emerson.edu

Religion

Chairs:

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Amina Steinfels
Religion
207 Skinner
Mount Holyoke College 538-2292
asteinfe@mtholyoke.edu

Renaissance

Chairs:

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Amy Rodgers
English
Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College
arodgers@mtholyoke.edu

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Reproductive Politics

Chairs:

Carrie Baker
Study of Women and Gender
Wright Hall 221
Smith College 585-3606
cbaker@smith.edu

Jennifer Nye
History
Herter Hall 609
University of Massachusetts 545-4337
jlnye@history.umass.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Reproductive Politics listserv

Social Movement Workgroup

Chair:

Marc Steinberg
Sociology
Wright 205
Smith College 585-3443
mwsteinb@smith.edu

South Asian Political Cultures

Chair:

Dwaipayan Sen
Asian Languages & Civilizations
AC 2254
Amherst College 542-5606
dsen@amherst.edu

Mailing List:

Join the South Asian Studies listserv

Valley Geometry

Chairs:

David Cox
Mathematics
404 Seeley Mudd
Amherst College 542-2082
dacox@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@math.umass.edu

Women's Studies

Chair:

Jennifer Hamilton
Legal Studies and Anthropology
Franklin Patterson G-6
Hampshire College 559-5677
jahSS@hampshire.edu

Mailing List:

Join the Women's Studies listsev