Five College Consortium

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2016–17

Each year, Five Colleges supports over 30 seminars initiated by groups of faculty members who come together to share scholarly interests and discuss curricular issues. Click through or scroll down to view contact information for the current chair(s).

Anthropology

Lynn Morgan
Anthropology
117 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 5382108
lmmorgan@mtholyoke.edu

Pamela Stone
Director of Culture, Brain & Development Program
CSI/FPH
Hampshire College 559-6203
pstone@hampshire.edu

Architectural Theory

Erica Morawski
Art
Hillyer 112
Smith College 585-3335
emorawski@smith.edu

Pari Riahi
Architecture
364 Fine Arts Building
University of Massachusetts 899-3147
priahi@umass.edu

Arts Integration Initiative

Jana Silver
Art Education
Franklin Patterson Hall G14
Hampshire College 559-5671
jsilver@hampshire.edu

Marla Solomon
Partnership Program Director
97 Spring St. Amherst, 2nd Floor
Five Colleges, Inc. 542-4018
msolomon@fivecolleges.edu

Book History

James Kelly
Du Bois Library
Research and Liaison Services Room
University of Massachusetts 545-3981
jrkelly@umass.edu

James Wald
Critical Social Inquiry
Franklin Patterson Hall G15
Hampshire College 559-5592
jjwss@hampshire.edu

Buddhist Studies

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Dula Amaradiriwardena
Chemistry
Cole Science Center
Hampshire College 559-5561
daNS@hampshire.edu

Childhood Studies

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205, Box SS
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Classics

Christopher van den Berg
Classics
AC 2257
Amherst College 542-8126
cvandenberg@amherst.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Cindy Bright
Coastal and Marine Sciences
Clark Science Center
Smith College 585-3799
marinesci@smith.edu

Renae Brodie
Biological Sciences
104 Clapp Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-3380
rbrodie@mtholyoke.edu

Cognitive Science

Andrew Cohen
Psychology & Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

French

Kathryn Lachman
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 319
University of Massachusetts 545-6703
klachman@llc.umass.edu

Mehammed Mack
French Studies
Tyler Annex 102
Smith College 585-3343
mmack@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

German Studies

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German Studies
27 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2207
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Joselyn Almeida-Beveridge
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2976
almeidab@english.umass.edu

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Amelia Worsley
English
102 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 559-6209
aworsley@amherst.edu

History

Andrew Donson
History
Herter Hall 508
University of Massachusetts 545-6782
adonson@german.umass.edu

History of Art

Sonja Drimmer
History of Art and Architecture
Bartlett 317
University of Massachusetts 545-3603
sdrimmer@arthist.umass.edu

Alexandra Seggerman
Art History
Hillyer 110
Smith College 585-3142
aseggerman@arthist.umass.edu

Italian

Ombretta Frau
Classics and Italian
207 Ciruti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Andrea Malaguti
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Herter 307
University of Massachusetts 545-6317
malaguti@frital.umass.edu

Late Antiquity

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3424
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Legal Studies

Paul Collins, Jr.
Political Science
328 Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-4079
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Thalia Pandiri
Classics and Comparative Literature
Seelye 417
Smith College 585-3485
tpandiri@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Studies

Ruth Jennison
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-695-7513
ruthj@english.umass.edu

Jordana Rosenberg
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-552-7850
jrosenberg@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Albert Lloret
Spanish & Portuguese
323 Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 577-4723
lloret@spanport.umass.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

Steven Heydemann
Middle Eastern Studies
Seelye Hall 103
Smith College 585-3331
sheydemann@smith.edu

David Mednicoff
Middle Eastern Studies
120 Gordon Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@legal.umass.edu

Number Theory

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
Seeley Mudd 403
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Photography

Jennifer Bajorek
HACU
Dakin 202
Hampshire College 549-5776
jbajorek@hampshire.edu

Claudio Nolasco
HACU
Liebling 104
Hampshire College 559-6901
cnolasco@hampshire.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Psychoanalytic Studies

Alicia Christoff
English
Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5457
achristoff@amherst.edu

Christine Maksimowicz
Five College Associate
christinemaksimowicz@gmail.com

Murray Schwartz
murray_schwartz@emerson.edu

Religion

Tariq Jaffer
Religion
209 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-2921
tjaffer@amherst.edu

Renaissance

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Amy Rodgers
English
Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College
arodgers@mtholyoke.edu

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Social Movement Workgroup

Steve Boutcher
Sociology
Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts none listed
boutcher@soc.umass.edu

Nancy Whittier
Sociology
10 Prospect Street, 203
Smith College 585-3524
nwhittie@smith.edu

Social Thought/Political Economy

Graciela Monteagudo
Social Thought and Political Economy
Machmer E-27A
University of Massachusetts 545-6776
gracielamonteagudo@sbs.umass.edu

South Asian Political Cultures

Yael Rice
Art and the History of Art
Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College 542-5520
yrice@amherst.edu

Uditi Sen
South Asian Studies and History
Franklin Patterson Hall G3
Hampshire College 559-5598
usSS@hampshire.edu

Valley Geometry

David Cox
Mathematics
404 Seeley Mudd
Amherst College 542-2082
dacox@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@math.umass.edu

Women's Studies

Banu Subramaniam
History
Bartlett Hall
Smith College 545-1922
banu@wost.umass.edu

Yiddish Studies

Justin Cammy
Jewish Studies and Comparative Literature
203 Seelye Hall
Smith College 585-3639
jcammy@smith.edu