Faculty Seminar List

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2013-2014

Afro-Luso-Brazilian

Malcolm McNee
Spanish & Portuguese
Wright Hall 308
Smith College 585-3348
mmcnee@smith.edu

Atlantic Studies

Laura Doyle
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2332
ldoyle@english.umass.edu

Karen Morrison
Afro-American Studies
New Africa House, Rm 308
University of Massachusetts 545-5157
kymorris@afroam.umass.edu

Buddhist Studies

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Maria Gomez
Carr Laboratory, G22C
Mount Holyoke College 538-2868
magomez@mtholyoke.edu

Childhood Studies

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson Library 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Critical Social Inquiry
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Classics

Melissa Mueller
Classics
Herter Hall, Rm 539
University of Massachusetts 545-5776
mmueller@classics.umass.edu

Christopher van den Berg
Classics
Grosvenor House
Amherst College 542-8126
cvandenberg@amherst.edu

Cognitive Science

Andrew Cohen
Psychology
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Economics

Susan Stratton Sayer
Economics
117 Skinner Hall
Smith College 585-2792
ssayre@smith.edu

Five College Social Movement Workgroup

Steve Boutcher
Sociology
Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts
boutcher@soc.umass.edu

Nancy Whittier
Sociology
10 Prospect Street, 203
Smith College 585-3524
nwhittie@smith.edu

German Studies

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German
103 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2294
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Daniel Block
British Literature
Dakin House 207
Hampshire College 559-6209
drbHA@hampshire.edu

Inter-Asian Political Cultures

Uditi Sen
South Asian Studies
Cricical Social Inquiry
Hampshire College
usSS@hampshire.edu

Pinky Hota
Anthropology
Dewey Hall 213
Smith College 585-3269
phota@smith.edu

Italian

Michael Papio
LANGUAGES, LITERATURES & CULTURES
Herter Hall, Rm 312
University of Massachusetts 545-2314
papio@hfa.umass.edu

Ombretta Frau
Classics & Italian
207 Ciruti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Late Antiquity

Mark Roblee
History
University of Massachusetts
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Caroline Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Discourse

Ruth Jennison
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2974
ruthj@english.umass.edu

Jordana Rosenberg
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2576
jrosenberg@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Jenny Adams
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 252
University of Massachusetts 545-0644
jadams@english.umass.edu

Steve Harris
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6598
sharris@english.umass.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

David Mednicoff
Middle Eastern Studies
120 Gordon Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@legal.umass.edu

Native American Indian Studies

Kathleen Brown-Perez
Commonwealth College
Goodell Bldg, 408
University of Massachusetts 545-5727
brown-perez@honors.umass.edu

Lisa Brooks
American Studies
112 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5594
lbrooks@amherst.edu

Number Theory

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
403 Seeley Mudd Building
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Performance Studies

Christopher Grobe
English
003 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5515
cgrobe@amherst.edu

Photography

Sandra Matthews
Photography
Jerome Leibling Center 101
Hampshire College 559-6084

Propositional Attitudes (Philosophy)

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Religion

Tariq Jaffer
Religion
209 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-2921
tjaffer@amherst.edu

Amina Steinfels
Religion
207 Skinner Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2292
asteinfe@mtholyoke.edu

Renaissance

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Slavic Studies

Sergey Glebov
History
Pierce Hall 108
Smith College 585-3742
sglebov@smith.edu

Social Thought / Political Economy

Graciela Monteagudo
STPEC Program
University of Massachusetts
gracielamonteagudo@sbs.umass.edu

Sigrid Schmalzer
History
Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6776
sigrid@history.umass.edu

Valley Geometry

David Cox
Mathematics
404 Seeley Mudd Building
Amherst College 542-2082
dacox@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@cns.umass.edu

Women's Studies

Karen Remmler
German Studies, Critical Social Thought, and Gender Studies
Shattuck Hall, Rm 305
Mount Holyoke College 538-3066/2986
kremmler@mtholyoke.edu