Faculty Seminar List

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2014-2015

Afro-Luso-Brazilian

Malcolm McNee
Spanish & Portuguese
Wright Hall 308
Smith College 585-3370
mmcnee@smith.edu

Atlantic/World Studies

Laura Doyle
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2332
ldoyle@english.umass.edu

Karen Morrison
Afro-American Studies
New Africa House, Rm 308
University of Massachusetts 545-5157
kymorris@afroam.umass.edu

Buddhist Studies

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Maria Gomez
Chemistry
G22C Carr Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-2868
magomez@mtholyoke.edu

Childhood Studies

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Classics

Melissa Mueller
Classics
Herter Hall, Rm 539
University of Massachusetts 545-5776
mmueller@classics.umass.edu

Christopher van den Berg
Classics
AC 2257
Amherst College 542-8126
cvandenberg@amherst.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Renae Brodie
Biological Sciences
104 Clapp Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-3380
rbrodie@mtholyoke.edu

Cindy Bright
Coastal and Marine Sciences
Clark Science Center
Smith College 585-3799
marinesci@smith.edu

Cognitive Science

Andrew Cohen
Psychology
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Eastern Christian Studies

Vera Shevzov
Religion
4/04 Neilson
Smith College 585-3686
vshevzov@smith.edu

Michael Penn
Religion
201B Skinner Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2876
mpenn@mtholyoke.edu

Jeffers Engelhardt
Music
5 Arms Music Center
Amherst College 542-8469
jengelhardt@amherst.edu

Economics

Susan Stratton Sayer
Economics
117 Skinner Hall
Smith College 585-2792
ssayre@smith.edu

Five College Social Movement Workgroup

Steve Boutcher
Sociology
Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts none listed
boutcher@soc.umass.edu

Nancy Whittier
Sociology
10 Prospect Street, 203
Smith College 585-3524
nwhittie@smith.edu

French

Kathryn Lachman
LLC
Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6703
klachman@llc.umass.edu

Mehammed Mack
French Studies
Tyler Annex 102
Smith College 585-3343
mmack@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

German Studies

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German
103 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2294
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Daniel Block
British Literature
Box HU/Dakin House 207
Hampshire College 559-6209
drbHA@hampshire.edu

Joselyn Almeida-Beveridge
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2976
almeidab@english.umass.edu

History

Priyanka Srivastava
History
Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6137
priyanka@history.umass.edu

Inter-Asian Political Cultures

Johan Mathew
History and Economics
711 Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6706
johan.mathew@history.umass.edu

Dwaipayan Sen
History and Asian Languages & Civilizations
26 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-5606
dsen@amherst.edu

Italian

Ombretta Frau
Classics and Italian
207 Ciruti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Anna Botta
Italian and Comparative Literature
Wright Hall 219
Smith College 585-3424
abotta@smith.edu

Late Antiquity

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts n/a
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Thalia Pandiri
Classics and Comparative Literature
Seelye 417
Smith College 585-3485
tpandiri@smith.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Theory

Ruth Jennison
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-695-7513
ruthj@english.umass.edu

Jordana Rosenberg
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-552-7850
jrosenberg@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Ingrid Nelson
English
111 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5458
inelson@amherst.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

David Mednicoff
Middle Eastern Studies
120 Gordon Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@legal.umass.edu

Elif Babul
Anthropology
124 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-2978
ebabul@mtholyoke.edu

Native American and Indigenous Studies

Lisa Brooks
American Studies; English
112 Johnson Chapel
Amherst College 542-5594
lbrooks@amherst.edu

Number Theory

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
AC 2239
Amherst College 542-8562
rlb@math.amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Performance Studies

Priscilla Page
Theater
Fine Arts Center, Room 107
University of Massachusetts 545-3490
pmpage@theater.umass.edu

Megan Lewis
Theater
Fine Arts Center, Room 107
University of Massachusetts 545-6816
meganlewis@theater.umass.edu

Photography

Sandra Matthews
Photography
Box PF/Jerome Leibling Center 101
Hampshire College 559-6084
samHA@hampshire.edu

Billie Mandle
Film/Photo/Video
Jerome Leibling Center 106
Hampshire College 559-5447
sbmHA@hampshire.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Religion

Tariq Jaffer
Religion
209 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-2921
tjaffer@amherst.edu

Renaissance

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Social Thought/Political Economy

Graciela Monteagudo
Social Thought and Political Economy
University of Massachusetts
gracielamonteagudo@sbs.umass.edu

Sigrid Schmalzer
History
Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-6776
sigrid@history.umass.edu

Valley Geometry

David Cox
Mathematics
AC 2239
Amherst College 542-2082
dacox@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@cns.umass.edu

Women's Studies

Nayiree Roubinian
Five College Women's Studies Research Center Program Coordinator
Mount Holyoke College 538-2275
nroubini@mtholyoke.edu