Five College Consortium

Faculty Seminar List

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2015-2016

Afro-Luso-Brazilian

Malcolm McNee
Spanish & Portuguese
Hatfield Hall 308
Smith College 585-3370
mmcnee@smith.edu

Anthropology

Pamela Stone
Director of Culture, Brain & Development Program
CSI/FPH
Hampshire College 559-6203
pstone@hampshire.edu

Lynn Morgan
Anthropology
117 Porter Hall
Mount Holyoke College 5382108
lmmorgan@mtholyoke.edu

Arts Integration Initiative

Jana Silver
Art Education
Franklin Patterson Hall G14
Hampshire College 559-5671
jsilver@hampshire.edu

Marla Solomon
Partnership Program Director
97 Spring St. Amherst, 2nd Floor
Five Colleges, Inc. 542-4018
msolomon@fivecolleges.edu

Buddhist Studies

Andy Rotman
Religion
Pierce Hall 203
Smith College 585-3348
arotman@smith.edu

Chemistry

Maria Gomez
Chemistry
G22C Carr Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-2868
magomez@mtholyoke.edu

Childhood Studies

Rachel Conrad
Childhood Studies
Franklin Patterson Hall 205, Box SS
Hampshire College 559-5394
rconrad@hampshire.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Neilson 2/07
Smith College 585-3528
ahearst@smith.edu

Classics

Melissa Mueller
Classics
Herter Hall, Rm 539
University of Massachusetts 545-5776
mmueller@classics.umass.edu

Christopher van den Berg
Classics
AC 2257
Amherst College 542-8126
cvandenberg@amherst.edu

Coastal and Marine Sciences

Renae Brodie
Biological Sciences
104 Clapp Laboratory
Mount Holyoke College 538-3380
rbrodie@mtholyoke.edu

Cindy Bright
Coastal and Marine Sciences
Clark Science Center
Smith College 585-3799
marinesci@smith.edu

Cognitive Science

Andrew Cohen
Psychology & Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, Rm 427
University of Massachusetts 545-4714
acohen@psych.umass.edu

Five College Social Movement Workgroup

Steve Boutcher
Sociology
Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts none listed
boutcher@soc.umass.edu

Nancy Whittier
Sociology
10 Prospect Street, 203
Smith College 585-3524
nwhittie@smith.edu

French

Kathryn Lachman
French and Francophone Studies
Herter Hall 319
University of Massachusetts 545-6703
klachman@llc.umass.edu

Mehammed Mack
French Studies
Tyler Annex 102
Smith College 585-3343
mmack@smith.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

German Studies

Ela Gezen
German
Herter Hall 517
University of Massachusetts 545-6678
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Holden
German Studies
27 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2207
aholden@mtholyoke.edu

Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century

Kate Singer
English
213 Shattuck Hall
Mount Holyoke College 538-3229
ksinger@mtholyoke.edu

Daniel Block
British Literature
Box HU/Dakin House 207
Hampshire College 559-6209
dblock@hampshire.edu

Joselyn Almeida-Beveridge
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-2976
almeidab@english.umass.edu

History

Priyanka Srivastava
History
Herter Hall 709
University of Massachusetts 545-6782
priyanka@history.umass.edu

History of Art

Yael Rice
Art and the History of Art
Fayerweather Hall
Amherst College 542-5520
yrice@amherst.edu

Laura Kalba
Art
Hillyer Hall
Smith College 585-3101
lkalba@smith.edu

South Asian Political Cultures

Krupa Shandilya
Sexuality, Women's and Gender STudies
26 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-5464
kshandilya@amherst.edu

Uditi SenSouth Asian Studies and History
Franklin Patterson Hall G3
Hampshire College 559-5598
usSS@hampshire.edu

Italian

Ombretta Frau
Classics and Italian
207 Ciruti
Mount Holyoke College 538-2581
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Anna Botta
Italian
Wright Hall 219
Smith College 585-3424
abotta@smith.edu

Late Antiquity

Mark Roblee
History
History Office, Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3424
mroblee@history.umass.edu

Legal Studies

Paul Collins, Jr.
Political Science
328 Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-4079
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Literary Translation

Carolyn Shread
French
31 Ciruti Center
Mount Holyoke College 538-2150
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Thalia Pandiri
Classics and Comparative Literature
Seelye 417
Smith College 585-3485
tpandiri@smith.edu

Marxist and Postcolonial Studies

Ruth Jennison
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-695-7513
ruthj@english.umass.edu

Jordana Rosenberg
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 413-552-7850
jrosenberg@english.umass.edu

Medieval Studies

Albert Lloret
Spanish & Portuguese
323 Herter Hall
University of Massachusetts 577-4723
lloret@spanport.umass.edu

Middle Eastern Studies

David Mednicoff
Middle Eastern Studies
120 Gordon Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3536
mednic@legal.umass.edu

Steven Heydemann
Middle Eastern Studies
Seelye Hall 103
Smith College 585-3331
sheydemann@smith.edu

Number Theory

Robert Benedetto
Mathematics
Seeley Mudd 403
Amherst College 542-8562
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Siman Wong
Mathematics & Statistics
Lederle Grad Research Twr B
University of Massachusetts 545-0907
siman@math.umass.edu

Performance Studies

Daniel Sack
English
464 Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-3880
dsack@english.umass.edu

Talya Kingston
Theatre
Writing Center Building (Box WP)Hampshire College 559-5748
tkIA@hampshire.edu

Photography

Sandra Matthews
FIlm and Photography
Box PF/Jerome Leibling Center 101
Hampshire College 559-6084
smatthews@hampshire.edu

Propositional Attitudes Task Force (PATF/Philosophy)

Ernie Alleva
Philosophy
Dewey Hall 12
Smith College 585-3657
ealleva@smith.edu

Religion

Tariq Jaffer
Religion
209 Chapin Hall
Amherst College 542-2921
tjaffer@amherst.edu

Renaissance

Adam Zucker
English
Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts 545-5522
azucker@english.umass.edu

Jane Degenhardt
English
Bartlett Hall, Rm. 459
University of Massachusetts 545-5127
janed@english.umass.edu

Social Thought/Political Economy

Sigrid Schmalzer
Social Thought and Political Economy
Machmer E-27A
University of Massachusetts 545-0043
sigrid@history.umass.edu

Valley Geometry

David Cox
Mathematics
404 Seeley Mudd
Amherst College 542-2082
dacox@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics & Statistics
LGRC Rm 1235H
University of Massachusetts 545-6017
hacking@math.umass.edu

Women's Studies

Darcy Buerkle
History
Neilson LIbrary 2/15
Smith College 585-3724
dbuerkle@smith.edu

Nayiree Roubinian
Five College Women's Studies Research Center Program Coordinator
Mount Holyoke College 538-2275
nroubini@mtholyoke.edu