Film and Media Studies at the Five Colleges

The Five College Film Council works to coordinate the study of film and video at all five campuses.

The members of the Council include faculty members drawn from a number of disciplines ranging from foreign languages to literature, history and media studies. They meet regularly to exchange information about courses as well as faculty appointments, and plan a coordinated approach to meeting common needs for instruction.

Since the spring of 2006, a Five College major in film and media studies has been approved at three campuses: Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith colleges.

The Five College Film and Media Studies program is supported by one joint faculty appointee who provides instruction in film and video production to complement courses in film theory and history offered at each campus: Bernadine Mellis.

The Council also sponsors an annual student film and video festival, held during the spring semester.