Five College Consortium

Five College Risk Management

No Cell Phones or Texting While Driving

Use of cell phones (including texting) is prohibited while driving college vehicles or while you are driving on college business.

College Policy 

If the driver must use a cell phone while driving on College Business, or while driving a College owned vehicle, s/he must stop safely, secure the vehicle and then make or take the call. There are NO exceptions, including hands-free phones. This applies to everyone - employees, students and volunteers.

There are a few basic reasons for this policy.

  1. Your personal safety 
  2. The safety of others on the road – drivers and pedestrians 
  3. The College can be held liable for your accident

There are two dangers associated with driving and cell phone use. First, drivers must take their eyes off the road while dialing or texting. Second, people can become so absorbed in their conversations that their ability to concentrate on the act of driving is severely impaired, jeopardizing the safety of vehicle occupants and pedestrians. Since the first law was passed in New York in 2001 banning hand-held cell phone use while driving, there has been debate as to the exact nature and degree of hazard. At first safety experts focused on the problem as part of the larger one of driver distractions in general. These can include anything that reduces driver concentration on road hazards from drinking coffee to talking with another passenger. Now there is increasing evidence that the dangers associated with cell-phone use outweigh those of other distractions. Safety experts also acknowledge that the hazard posed by cell phone conversations is not eliminated, and may even be increased, by the use of hands-free sets.

Texting - it can wait.

DOT Announces Final Rule Banning Hand-Held Cell Phone Use by Drivers

The final ruling (announced 11/23/2011) prohibits commercial drivers from using a hand-held mobile telephone while operating a commercial truck or bus.

View the press release on hand-held cell phone devices from the FMCSA
View the complete ruling on commercial drivers using hand-held cell phones

Drivers who violate the restriction will face federal civil penalties of up to $2,750 for each offense and disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle for multiple offenses. Additionally, states will suspend a driver's commercial driver's license after two or more serious traffic violations. Commercial truck and bus companies that allow their drivers to use hand-held cell phones while driving will face a maximum penalty of $11,000.

New! State of New Hampshire Bans Hand-Held Electronics Behind the Wheel, effective July 2015

For More Information