Five College Theater Program

People

Amherst | Hampshire | Mount Holyoke | Smith | UMass Amherst 

Amherst College

Faculty

Playwriting, Dramaturgy
Constance Congdon
Resident Playwright
AC# 2248
213 Webster Hall
542-8130
cscongdon@amherst.edu

Set and Costume Design
Suzanne Dougan
Professor
AC# 2248
31 Webster Hall
542-2386
spdougan@amherst.edu

Acting, Mime, Movement, Directing
Peter Lobdell 
Resident Artist
AC# 2248
26 Webster Hall
542-8124
ptlobdell@amherst.edu

Directing, Dramaturgy
Michael Birtwistle 
AC# 2248
30 Webster Hall
542-5349
mbirtwistle@amherst.edu

Dance, Choreography, Performance Art, Videography (Chair) 
Wendy Woodson
Professor
AC# 2248
28 Webster Hall
542-8145
wwoodson@amherst.edu

Staff

Academic Department Coordinator, Business Manager, Publicist, Box Office
Linda Celi
AC# 2248
27 Webster Hall
542-2411
ltceli@amherst.edu

Technical Director
Robert Colby
AC# 2248
Kirby Theater
542-2437
rfcolby@amherst.edu

Lighting Designer
Kathy Couch
AC# 2248
Kirby Theater
542-2437
kcouch@amherst.edu

Assistant Technical Director, Production Coordinator
Jonathan Doyle
AC# 2248
Kirby Theater
542-2360
jmdoyle@amherst.edu

Costumer
Carla Froeberg
AC# 2248
Kirby Theater
542-8143
cgfroeberg@amherst.edu

Assistant Costumer
Amelie Geiger
AC# 2248
Kirby Theater
542-8143
asgeiger@amherst.edu

Amherst | Hampshire | Mount Holyoke | Smith | UMass Amherst

Hampshire College

Faculty

Djola Branner
Assistant Professor of Theatre
559- 5511
EDH 26
dbranner@hampshire.edu

Ellen Donkin
Professor of Theatre, 
Dean, School for Interdisciplinary Arts
559-5824
First floor, Writing Center Building 
edonkin@hampshire.edu

Talya Kingston
Visiting Assistant Professor of Theatre
559-5748
GR-F 2nd Flr Writing Center Bldg.
tkingston@hampshire.edu

Peter Kallok
Theatre/Dance Technical Director & Instructional Staff
559-5749
EDH 36
pkallok@hampshire.edu

William Kramer
Professor of Theatre
559-5480
EDH 28
wkramer@hampshire.edu

Natalie Sowell
Assistant Professor of Theatre
559-6099
EDH 27
nsowell@hampshire.edu

Amherst | Hampshire | Mount Holyoke | Smith | UMass Amherst 

Mount Holyoke College

Roger Babb, Professor
Performance/Directing
101 Rooke Theatre
538-2836
rbabb@mtholyoke.edu

Elaine Bergeron, Costumer
207A Rooke Theatre
538-2180 or 538-2837
emberger@mtholyoke.edu

Barbara Bunyan
Business Manager/Sr. Administrative Asst.
100 Rooke Theatre
538-2834
bbunyan@mtholyoke.edu

Sarah Conly, Design
Visiting Faculty
201 Rooke Theatre
538-2835
sconly@mtholyoke.edu

Susan Daniels, Acting (spring semester only)
102 Rooke Theatre
538-2118
sdaniels@mtholyoke.edu

Lara Dubin
Lighting/Sound Technician
203A Rooke Theatre
538-2833
ldubin@mtholyoke.edu

Liz Duffy-Adams, Playwriting (fall semester only)
201A Rooke Theatre
(413) 538-2118
lduffyad@mtholyoke.edu

Rick Mauran, Technical Theatre
106 Rooke Theatre
(413) 538-2831
rmauran@mtholyoke.edu

Vanessa James, Professor
Design
203A Rooke Theatre
538-2834
vjames@mtholyoke.edu

Brooke O’Harra, Acting/Directing
201A Rooke Theatre
(413) 538-2337
boharra@mtholyoke.edu

Erika Rundle, History/Performance Studies
203 Rooke Theatre
538-2658
erundle@mtholyoke.edu

Amherst | Hampshire | Mount Holyoke | Smith | UMass Amherst

Smith College

Faculty

Leonard Berkman 
Anne Hesseltine Hoyt Professor of Theatre, Playwriting/Literature
Theatre Building, T203
585-3206
lberkman@smith.edu

Edward M. Check
Lecturer, Set Design 
Theatre Building T105
585-3210
echeck@email.smith.edu

Andrea D.Hairston
Professor of Theatre, Playwriting/Literature
Theatre Building T102
585-3211
ahairsto@msn.com (preferred)
ahairsto@email.smith.edu

Ellen W. Kaplan
Professor of Theatre, Acting/Directing
Theatre Building, T202
585-3207
ekaplan@smith.edu

Kiki Smith 
Professor of Theatre, Costume Design
Theatre Building, T13a
585-3216
ksmith@smith.edu

Nan Zhang
Lecturer, Lighting Design
Theatre Building, T108
585-3215
nzhang@smith.edu

Paul Zimet
Associate Professor of Theatre, Acting/Directing
Theatre Building, T204
585-3235
pzimet@smith.edu

Staff

Joan Maxson
Manager of Publicity and Public Relations
Theatre Building, T206
585-3222
jmaxson@email.smith.edu

Alicia Guidotti
Administrative Assistant
Theatre Building, T205
585-3204 Emily Justice Dunn
Asst. Costumer/Cutter
Theatre Building, T12
585-3217
aguidott@smith.edu

Shawn Hill
Asst. Technical Director
Theatre Building, T120
585-3219 Joan Hornbuckle
Administrative Assistant
Theatre Building, T201
585-3201
jhornbuc@smith.edu

Daniel Rist
Technical Director
Theatre Building, T220
585-3218
drist@smith.edu

David C. Roy
Lighting & Sound Supervisor
Theatre Building
585-3202
droy@email.smith.edu

Sam Rush
Production Coordinator
Theatre Building, T111
585-3249
srush@smith.edu

Jill St. Coeur
Costumer/Cutter
Theatre Building, T12
585-3217
jstcoeur@smith.edu

Jonathan Wyman
Lighting Supervisor
Theatre Building, T106
585-3239

Amherst | Hampshire | Mount Holyoke | Smith | UMass Amherst

UMass Amherst

Faculty

Chris Baker
Adjunct professor, dramaturgy

Michael Cottom
Technical Director
Room 24B, FAC
545-6821

Milan Dragicevich
Assistant Professor, Performance
Room 110, FAC
545-6814
miland@theater.umass.edu

Harley Erdman
Chair; Associate Professor, Dramaturgy
Room 117, FAC
545-6812
harley@theater.umass.edu

June Gaeke
Professor, Costume Design
Room 117, FAC
545-6811
jgaeke@theater.umass.edu

Marcus Gardley
Assistant Professor, African-American Theater and playwriting/playmaking

Robert Kaplowitz
Five-College Visiting Lecturer in Sound Design

Gina Kauffman
Assistant Professor: Directing
Room 109
gina@theater.umass.edu

Gilbert McCauley
Assistant Professor, Directing
Room 109, FAC
545-6815
gilmac@theater.umass.edu

Julie Nelson
Associate Professor, Voice, Movement, and Acting
Room 113, FAC
545-2697
jnelson@theater.umass.edu

Julian Olf
Professor, Dramaturgy and Directing 
Room 103, FAC
545-9563
jolf@theater.umass.edu

Priscilla Page
Lecturer, Dramaturgy 
Room 107, FAC
545-6816
pmpage@theater.umass.edu

Penny Remsen
Professor, Lighting Design; Undergraduate Program Director 
Room 111, FAC
545-0681
remsen@theater.umass.edu

Miguel Romero
Professor, Scenic Design
Room 106, FAC
545-4649
mromero@theater.umass.edu

Guest Lecturers

Tom Shread, fall, Theater 100

Sarah Nelson, spring, costume

Wayne Kramer, spring, costume

Staff

Joanne Corbeil-Harper
Office Manager and Bookkeeper
Room 112B, FAC
545-6805
jcorbeil@admin.umass.edu

Mark Dean
Business Manager
Room 115, FAC
545-6820
msdean@theater.umass.edu

Michael Dubin
Master Electrician
Room 32, FAC
545-9564
dubonicman@aol.com

Julie Fife
Production Manager
Room 104, FAC
545-6809
jafife@theater.umass.edu

Anna-Maria Goossens
Public Relations Director
Room 108, FAC
545-6808
amgoossens@verizon.net

Ted Hodgen
Scene Shop Manager
Room 24A, FAC
577-0104
thodgen@theater.umass.edu

John Iverson
Assistant Technical Director
Room 24, FAC
545-0568
johni@theater.umass.edu

Felicia McNeill
Costume Shop Assistant
Room 11, FAC
545-3525
feliciamcneill@yahoo.com

Cecilia Precciozzi
Costume Shop Manager
Room 06, FAC
545-6810
cpreccio@theater.umass.edu

Denise Wagner
Department Secretary
Room 112, FAC
545-3490
dwagner@theater.umass.edu