Faculty Seminars

 

Each year, Five Colleges supports more than 35 seminars initiated by groups of faculty members who come together to share scholarly interests and discuss curricular issues. Seminars have budgets of $250 to $1000 and use their funding to share works-in-progress, host outside speakers, and co-sponsor events.

Faculty Seminar Guidelines for Application

Five College Faculty Seminars bring together faculty members from three or more of the five campuses to exchange ideas, discuss works-in-progress, and on occasion host guest speakers. Their formats vary according to the needs and interests of those participating, as does meeting frequency. Seminars are funded for the academic year on a year-to-year basis. Allocations never exceed $1,000.

Guidelines

To be eligible for funding a seminar should include members from all five colleges, but three-and four-college seminars are possible. Guest speakers should constitute an occasional rather than regular feature. Seminar funds may not be used to cover the cost of meals for members but may pay for meals of guest speakers (including five college faculty members) and for light refreshments at meetings (including beverages). Funds cannot be used to pay honoraria to faculty members from the five institutions. In general, seminars cannot be hosted at the Five College office, but should meet in space provided free of charge on the campuses.

Application Instructions

Proposals for new seminars and renewal requests are reviewed on a rolling basis. To renew or create a seminar, contact Rebecca Thomas at rthomas@fivecolleges.edu.

Be prepared to provide the following information:

  • Name of seminar
  • Name(s) of the person(s) responsible for administering the seminar
  • Description of the structure and purpose of the seminar
  • Number of meetings anticipated and a list of faculty members who have agreed to participate
  • A budget of projected expenditures for activities proposed (i.e., expenses for speakers, meeting refreshments, special materials supporting seminar discussion, etc.).

How to Access Funds

In most cases, chairs or speakers will pay for their expenses directly and then apply for reimbursement from the seminar budget. For each reimbursement, applicants will need to submit a Check Request Form and supporting documentation (for details, see the chart on page 2 of the Check Request Form), as well as a W-9 form for every individual being reimbursed. W-9 forms should be submitted through campus/postal mail or by fax to 413-542-4028; do not send them via email, as it is not sufficiently secure.

All requests for reimbursement should be made by the seminar chair or with demonstrated approval from the chair. Bills should be submitted to Five Colleges, Inc. with a completed Check Request Form showing the name of the seminar and accompanied by other supporting documentation as appropriate (see below). Do NOT have bills sent directly to Five Colleges, Inc. without prior approval from Ray Rennard. If honoraria checks are needed by a certain time, they should be requested ten (10) days in advance, in writing, and should include a completed W-9 form from the speaker, as well as other supporting documentation (see below). For forms and further information, please see the Guide to Processing Payments.

Seminar chairs are responsible for keeping track of how much money has been spent and how much remains in their faculty seminar budget. Five Colleges, Inc. cannot cover expenditures beyond the funds allocated to your seminar. For an up-to-date record of all posted expenses, contact Ezekiel Baskin. Please keep in mind that budget updates from Five Colleges may not reflect reimbursement requests or other funding commitments (such as co-sponsorships) that have not yet been processed.

The fiscal year of Five Colleges, Inc. ends on June 30. In order to process bills by that date, we must receive all outstanding statements or expenditures of your seminar by June 15. Bills received after June 30 will be charged to the next year’s budget. Any unused budget as of June 30 will revert to Five Colleges and cannot be carried over to the next fiscal year.

Please be advised that special rules apply for payments to students, payments over $1,500, and payments to non-U.S. citizens. For more information, contact Ezekiel Baskin before committing to or incurring an expense and well in advance of your event so that we will have sufficient time to respond.

If you are part of more than one Five College initiative with a budget (e.g., a certificate program and a faculty seminar), please be sure to track your expenses separately and bill to the appropriate budget.

Supporting Documentation Required

Original itemized receipt

Highlight/denote alcohol costs separately

W-9 for individual being reimbursed

Check Request Form

Original itemized receipt

Highlight/denote alcohol costs separately

Highlight/denote speaker expenses separately (only speaker expenses will be reimbursed)

List of attendees and affiliations

W-9 for individual being reimbursed

Check Request Form

Copy of poster/flyer/email announcing event

Email/letter showing commitment of funds from chair

W-9 for individual being paid

Check Request Form

Receipt for bus/train/airline ticket costs OR copy of Google/MapQuest map showing mileage to/from destination (mileage is reimbursed at IRS rates)

W-9 for individual being reimbursed

Check Request Form

Copy of poster/flyer/email announcing event

Email/letter showing commitment of funds from chair

Check Request Form

Original itemized receipt

W-9 for individual being reimbursed

Check Request Form

Eligible and Ineligible Expenses

Please check with Ray Rennard or Ezekiel Baskin before agreeing to or incurring any expenses not mentioned below.

Eligible Expenses

Reading materials for seminar members; printing/design costs for promotional materials; travel costs for visiting speakers; honoraria for visiting speakers; meal costs for visiting speakers; meal costs for Five College faculty members only when they are the main speakers at a seminar meeting; co-sponsorships; light refreshments (snacks and drinks, including alcohol); event setup/AV costs

Ineligible Expenses

Meal costs for Five College faculty members except when they are the main speakers at a seminar meeting; honoraria for Five College faculty members

Faculty Seminars and Chairs, 2021-22

Anne Kerth    
Afro-American Studies
UMass Amherst    
akerth@umass.edu

Jose Gonzales
Afro-American Studies
UMass Amherst
jigonzalez@umass.edu

Joshua Roth
Sociology and Anthropology
Mount Holyoke College
jroth@mtholyoke.edu

Pari Riahi
Architecture
UMass Amherst
priahi@umass.edu

Michael T. Davis
Art/Architectural Studies
Mount Holyoke College
mtdavis@mtholyoke.edu

Laure Katsaros
French/Architectural Studies
Amherst College
lakatsaros@amherst.edu

James Wald
History
Hampshire College
jwald@hampshire.edu

James Kelly
Library
Amherst College
jrkelly@amherst.edu

Lesley-Ann Giddings
Chemistry
Smith College
lgiddings@smith.edu

Alice Hearst
Government
Smith College
ahearst@smith.edu

Rachel Conrad
Critical Social Inquiry
Hampshire College
rcSS@hampshire.edu

Shannon Hogue
Classics
UMass Amherst s
hogue@umass.edu

Rebecca Worsham
Classics
Smith College
rworsham@smith.edu

Andy Danylchuk
Env. Conservation
UMass Amherst
danylchuk@eco.umass.edu

Cindy Bright
Coastal and Marine Sciences
Five Colleges
cbright@fivecolleges.edu

Jon Olsen
History
UMass Amherst
jon@history.umass.edu

Emmanuel Buzay
French
UMass Amherst
ebuzay@umass.edu

Este Pope
Library
Amherst College
epope@amherst.edu

Raphael Sigal
French
Amherst College
rsigal@amherst.edu

Jeremi Szaniawski
Languages, Literatures and Cultures
UMass Amherst
jszaniawski@umass.edu

Carolyn Shread
French
Mount Holyoke College
cshread@mtholyoke.edu

Mehammed Mack
French
Smith College
mmack@smith.edu

Ela Gezen
German and Scandinavian Studies
UMass Amherst
egezen@german.umass.edu

Anca Luca Holden
Five College Center for World Languages
Five Colleges
alholden@umass.edu

Andrew Donson
German and Scandinavian Studies
UMass Amherst
adonson@umass.edu

Jutta Sperling
History
Amherst College & Hampshire College
jsSS@hampshire.edu

Brigitte Buettner
Art History
Smith College
bbuettne@smith.edu

Cristiano Mazzei
LLC
UMass Amherst
cmazzei@umass.edu

Yan Wu
LLC
UMass Amherst
yanwu@umass.edu

Ombretta Frau
Classics; Italian
Mount Holyoke College
ofrau@mtholyoke.edu

Anna Botta
Italian
Smith College
abotta@smith.edu

Mark Roblee
History
UMass Amherst
mroblee@umass.edu

Paul Collins
Political Science
UMass Amherst
pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Corine Tachtiris
Languages, Literatures and Cultures
UMass Amherst
ctachtiris@umass.edu

Kiran Asher
WGSS
UMass Amherst
kasher@umass.edu

Malcolm Sen
English
UMass Amherst
msen@umass.edu

Nicholas Caverly
Anthropology
UMass Amherst
ncaverly@umass.edu

Sonja Drimmer
History of Art and Architecture
UMass Amherst
sdrimmer@arthist.umass.edu

David Hernandez
Latina/o Studies
Mount Holyoke College
dhernand@mtholyoke.edu

Jennifer Guglielmo
History
Smith College
jgugliel@smith.edu

Siman Wong
Math
UMass Amherst
siman@math.umass.edu

Robert Benedetto
Math
Amherst College
rlbenedetto@amherst.edu

Erin Pineda
Government
Smith College
epineda@smith.edu

Ali Aslam
Politics
Mount Holyoke College
aaslam@mtholyoke.edu

Kristin Bumiller
Political Science
Amherst College
kbumiller@amherst.edu

Laura Ciolkowski
WGSS
UMass Amherst
lciolkowski@umass.edu

Lucas Wilson
Africana Studies & Economics
Mount Holyoke College
lbwilson@mtholyoke.edu

Andy Rotman
Religion
Smith College
arotman@smith.edu

Amina Steinfels
Religion
Mount Holyoke College
asteinfe@mtholyoke.edu

Jane Degenhardt
English
UMass Amherst
janed@english.umass.edu

Suparna Roychoudhury
English
Mount Holyoke College
sroychou@mtholyoke.edu

Jennifer L. Nye
History
UMass Amherst
jlnye@history.umass.edu

Cora Fernandez Anderson
Politics
Mount Holyoke College
canderso@mtholyoke.edu

Sara Newland
Government
Smith College
snewland@smith.edu

Nusrat Chowdhury
Anthropology and Sociology
Amherst College
nchowdhury@amherst.edu

Paul Hacking
Mathematics and Statistics
UMass Amherst
hacking@math.umass.edu

Nathan Pflueger
Mathematics and Statistics
Amherst College
npflueger@amherst.edu

Contact Us

A smiling man with short hair, blue collared shirt, and blue jacket.

Ray Rennard

Director of Academic Programs