Film Studies at the Five Colleges

Film Studies at the Five Colleges

The Five College Film Council works to coordinate the study of film and video at all five campuses.

The members of the Council include faculty members drawn from a number of disciplines ranging from foreign languages to literature, history and media studies. They meet regularly to exchange information about courses as well as faculty appointments, and plan a coordinated approach to meeting common needs for instruction.

One of the Council's most significant achievements in recent years has been the creation of a Five College major in film studies. Announced in the spring of 2006, the major has now been approved at three of the four colleges -- Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith.

The Council negotiates the shared teaching duties of two joint faculty appointees -- Baba Hillman and Bernadine Mellis -- who provide instruction in film and video production to complement courses in film theory and history offered at each campus.

The Council also sponsors an annual student film and video festival, held during the spring semester.